We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place at a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Amazing place at a great price.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just spent three nights at this funky cool hotel (definitely not your standard Howard Johnson) and loved it. The rooms are small but hey, when you're visiting NY you shouldn't spend a lot of time in your room. That said, it was clean and modern and very comfortable. The neighborhood is great and accessible (close to the Subway). A bunch of really cool little bars within a few blocks of the hotel. We highly recommend checking out Bar 169! The hotel manager was incredibly kind and helpful and really bent over backwards to help us on our last day (storing bags, arranging rides, etc.). We just had a great time and would definitely stay there again. And the price was more than reasonable for how nice it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Mike L,

Thank you for your funky review, we really appreciate your kind words about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho! I'm glad you had a good time, I'm sure there a few kinks we still have to work out and we value your suggestions. please let us know if there is anything we missed, you can email us info@hjsoho.com. Next time you visit our great city please let us know if advance and we will take care of you.

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Jeff Yong
Assistant Front Desk Manager/Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    292
    73
    14
    10
See reviews for
183
243
49
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Staff in this Hotel were so helpful, so friendly and couldn't have done enough for us. The Hotel was modern, new, and clean. The location was perfect - near to subway stations for getting uptown and far enough downtown to walk to Little Italy, the Financial District etc. The price was extremely good for such a nice, clean, well located NYC Hotel. The Hotel claims to be in Soho but is more in Chinatown but it's a perfectly safe and accessible area and only a couple of streets walk to Soho or Little Italy. At a push to find something I didn't like, the only thing I would have to say is our room was a little on the small side but that shouldn't bother anyone visiting to see New York as like us you'll hardly spend any time in it and the decor/cleanliness and service more than makes up for the room size.

Room Tip: I haven't seen a room on the top floor at the front of the Hotel but I think if you ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyAnnBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Ms Tracy Ann Brown,

Thank you for your stay with us here at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho and thank you for your review on tripadvisor. The front desk at our hotel will always try and maintain a level of professionalism that exceeds your expectations and I am glad you found us so very helpful. We have done our very best with the limited amount of space we had to work with when building this hotel, I am glad you stayed with us at the very beginning of our journey. Please allow us to maintain our high level of service, if you have any suggestions on how we can make your next stay even more comfortable please email us at info@hjsoho.com.


Thank you once again for your review, I look forward to hearing from you!

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic new small hotel. everything is new and fresh. they have the most wonderful asian in the front desk called mr. Lai, he knows everything and since its a small hotel he will know you..


Not to far from the gran central station!

I will come back here next time...

I LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inglourious_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Tatiana R,

All our staffs were glad to serve you during your stayed in our Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho Hotel. Whether you were traveling on business or pleasure, we know you have a choice and we are honored that you selected our property for your lodging needs.

Thank you for your valuable suggestions that give us opportunity to correct the situation immediately, these are the only method will enable us to achieve a higher level of service. We thank you for choosing HOJOSOHO, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to the New York City.

During your next visit to NYC, please do not hesitate to send me a direct email for any questions. I will be very happy to make the reservations for your next stay in NYC.

Regards,

Annie Jiao
Marketing Manager
ajiao@hjsoho.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon Gij
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It surprised us, because it's so new, clean and the service were amazing. The room included the breakfast.
The location is on china town, but very close you have a subway station. You can be in central park in fifhteen minutes and you don't need to change to oder subway lines.
It was a great discovering.
They kept our luggage for free, and they called a taxi service to go to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Tatiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Tatiana R,

All our staffs were glad to serve you during your stayed in our Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho Hotel. Whether you were traveling on business or pleasure, we know you have a choice and we are honored that you selected our property for your lodging needs.

Thank you for your valuable suggestions that give us opportunity to correct the situation immediately, these are the only method will enable us to achieve a higher level of service. We thank you for choosing HOJOSOHO, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to the New York City.

During your next visit to NYC, please do not hesitate to send me a direct email for any questions. I will be very happy to make the reservations for your next stay in NYC.

Regards,

Annie Jiao
Marketing Manager
ajiao@hjsoho.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Never have we felt more warmly welcomed at any NYC hotel. What a surprise to find a brand new hotel located in the middle of Chinatown. Our room was impeccably clean as was the breakfast area.

We had a pleasant stay at a location convenient to everything. Our room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The professional hotel staff was warm, friendly, and helpful.

This hotel is close little Italy, SOHO, and the East Village for dining, to Canal Street for shopping and lower Manhatan. We used the East Broadway station for subway and the M15 bus for transportation around the city. Both were convenient to our hotel.

What a great place to stay! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradyj1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

All our staffs were glad to serve you during your stayed in our Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho Hotel. Whether you were traveling on business or pleasure, we know you have a choice and we are honored that you selected our property for your lodging needs.

Thank you for your valuable suggestions that give us opportunity to correct the situation immediately, these are the only method will enable us to achieve a higher level of service. We thank you for choosing HOJOSOHO, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to the New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#356 of 468 in New York City
28 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#172 of 468 in New York City
570 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#349 of 468 in New York City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#278 of 468 in New York City
1,208 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#219 of 468 in New York City
338 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Property: Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002-5301
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing