We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Midtown West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Ranked #329 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The location was great as it was a few blocks off Times Square so nice and quiet which was such a relief after my previous visits staying in noisy TriBeCa! As the hotel is only new everything was in excellent working order. The rooms were very nice, although fairly small. If you had more than 2 suitcases it would be annoying as there is very little storage for clothes in the room so you may be having to pile your suitcases on top of each other. This is really the only negative I found as the staff were really friendly and helpful. I will definitively stay here on my next trip to New York.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
So happy to hear you had a great stay! Yes the rooms are small, but when your in NYC, your there to see the sites, which you did. So great to hear that the staff took good care of you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future!

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    196
    117
    29
    18
See reviews for
132
197
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I enjoyed staying at this hotel and would stay again. The staff was great and they made out stay great. The room was a little small but it worked since we were only in the room to sleep and get dressed.

The breakfast was great but the hotel could provide more seating.

Great hotel and great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments! We are currently looking at adding seating for breakfast, so thank you for your thoughts. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay and I hope we see you again in the future!

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Located in Hell's Kitchen, you will never be wanting for restaurant options, as the area has a wide variety of dining choices. The hotel is a straight 10-15 minute walk to Times Square so the location is really convenient for those wanting to partake of the theater options and shopping in Midtown.

As for the rooms, they are small. We had 2 double beds and very little storage space. The pictures on the site are representative of what we had. This is not a complaint, however. Besides sleeping and showering, we were barely in our room - this is NYC after all. For the two of us there for a long weekend, we were fine. If you are planning a long trip and have a big suitcase, you might run into some issues. The bathroom was clean and surprisingly roomy (although again no storage and limited counter space).

The staff was nice and we got a gift bag because my friend is a member of their hotel club. The free breakfast was good and appreciated in this expensive town. There was construction going on across the street, but it didn't bother us during the weekend we were there. We got our room through a travel site and combined with the flight. So I can't really speak to rates, but I don't feel I overpaid.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the 1st floor right by the elevator and front desk/lobby so I would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you! Yes, the hotel is in a great location and I'm happy that you were able to partake in what Hell's Kitchen has to offer. We truly appreciate your patronage and we hope you'll be a guest again in the future.

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from June 23-26 and I absolutely loved it! The hotel is a little over a year old and it was impeccably clean. The breakfast attendant, Christine and Jon graziano, the front desk attendant ,were extremely helpful to our family...always willing to give that extra helping hand. They made that trip all the more enjoyable! Thanks guys! We only had to walk 4 blocks to get to Times Square!!! It was in a safe neighbourhood except for the Salvation Army being across the street...it brought down the area a little bit but other than that it was great. The breakfast was a perfect start to the day. Toast, bagels, waffles, cereals, yogurt, eggs, sausage, ham, juice, coffee, fruit,tea....what more can u ask for!!!! Lovely place and would stay there again..... By the way ,the rooms are small but you are there to explore and shop so it's do able!! Beds are comfy and the bathrooms are clean...that is what is important!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. Also, thank you for recognizing Jon & Christine for their great service! They are great team members and we are proud to have them. We are happy you had a great stay and we truly hope to welcome you back as guests in the future!

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nice, clean rooms. Really nice staff! Even though I'm only at the hotel when I'm sleeping, i will recommend this hotel to other tourists. I wish there was a sub station more close, if you'r willing to walk for 10 minutes or so, stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fjordingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the great comments. I agree, our staff is great and I'm happy to see that they took good care of you! Even though we are about 10 minutes from the subway, we are a short walk to Times Square and the Intrepid. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and we hope to have you again as our guest in the future.

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for a night before and after a cruise. This hotel is an easy 2block walk to Pier 88. There is currently noisy construction going on across the street which stops around 5:00pm. We made the mistake on our return to accept a room on the first floor which happened to be ready when we arrived at 11:00am. However at around 6am the lobby area, where breakfast is served, becomes extremely noisy (mostly chairs and tables being dragged across the floor constantly). Do not accept a first floor room unless you are a very early riser. Otherwise the rooms are comfortable and clean if not very compact and the staff helpful and friendly.

My hint to the hotel - how about some area rugs and pads for chair and table feet.

Room Tip: Do not take a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NSBfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel was recently updated and our room was attractive and clean! The staff was as friendly and helpful as any in a 4 star hotel. About a 10 minute walk to the subway through a safe residential neighborhood. Good breakfast included. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: Do ask for a room in the back as there is noisy construction in the front. If you have internet prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
It's great to hear you had a wonderful stay! So happy that you enjoyed the amenities we had to offer at the Comfort Inn Midtown West. Thank you for the review and we hope to have you again as a guest in the future!

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#360 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown West

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown West
Address: 548 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing