We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too far from everything, but not very close to anything.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Ranked #321 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not too far from everything, but not very close to anything.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A good value hotel with good amenities - the wifi worked well and the room was sufficient for the two of us. As everyone keeps saying, NYC hotel rooms have a reputation for being small but we stayed for four nights and had no trouble with the size of the room.

The free breakfast was nice - waffles, muffins, cereal, juice, bagels etc. The setup is quite small, so if you happen to turn up during a rush time you probably won't get a table and may have to wait awhile.

The hotel is a walkable distance to many tourist attractions - Times Square is 15mins walk, Rockefeller 20 and Penn Station around 30mins. Cab rides are decent too, got a cab to Rockefeller for $7 and we cabbed from the Statue of Liberty ferry in lower Manhattan for about $20. The subway is about a 10 min walk away also. When looking at hotels while booking this trip, the free wifi, breakfast and walkable distance were the reasons why we chose this one.

That said, the hotel isn't really close to anything either. When looking for a quick bite to eat at the end of a long day of sightseeing, there aren't many restaurants or even convenience stores which are too close by - a few low budget diners and a few places 5-10min walk away which didn't look like anything special. That was the biggest downfall of the hotel.

Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahmudgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    222
    126
    33
    20
See reviews for
149
217
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, ga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a very nice reasonable place for New York. From the time of our arrival until departure everything was nice. We had an early arrival and they stored our bags while we did the tourist thing. The room was small but adequate to sleep and shower which is all that is needed when you want to see all you can.

The one thing I would suggest was to have a small microwave in the breakfast area since they did offer sweet rolls. The breakfast spread was well rounded and hit he spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomenglishDudley_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This still-fresh hotel in Hell's Kitchen seems well run. But like many NYC budget hotels, the rooms are tiny. They don't have closet or bureau, just a shallow wall unit with shelves and a few hangers. It's okay for two people, pretty tight for three. Likewise, the bathroom has a large modern shower, no tub, and a sink with very little countertop space. (It's roomier, though, than the almost capsulish new Indigo in Brooklyn.) The included breakfast is pretty standard hotel stuff, not bad as it goes, though the lobby runs out of tables. It's convenient to the theater district. The nearest garage (validates at $30/night) is about a block and a half away, next to the Skyline. And there's only one elevator... I guess they couldn't even spare that much space for a second.

Room Tip: Lower floors (walkable) might help avoid waits for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensilvannya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Let me start by saying that this hotel is very lucky to have Joann as part of the staff, I was absolutely blown away by her hospitality. She helped us with places to eat, sightseeing, guide us with everything, booked us a shuttle, printed out our boarding passes and not once she misses a good morning, how was dinner or breakfast. What I loved the most is how genuine she was about helping us every time, the rooms were a bit small but the whole staff made our stay worth it, the rooms were very clean, breakfast was always great. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doran d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leoti, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a decent deal for the money. The front desk people were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was typical hotel fast breakfast; but one morning we came in late to eat. We had been on a running tour and were starving. The lady that was cleaning the area and putting everything away made sure we had plenty of food before finishing her duties. She was extremely sweet and helped serve us with a smile on her face.

Be ready for EXTREMELY small rooms. There were four girls in the room and it was a TIGHT fit. We couldn't have our room cleaned because there was only a small walkway that was not covered with suitcases, coats, etc. It wouldn't have been too bad if there had only been two people.

The hotel is off the beaten path but within walking distance or an inexpensive cab ride to most sites. The neighborhood seemed safe and we didn't worry about walking in a group at night.

All in all ...not too bad for the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoLovesToTravel_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I just want to say a BIG THANK YOU to the staff... There was not a day during our 5 day stay (DEC 12 - DEC 16 th) that we where not met with a good morning, how are you? How is your stay? Do you need anything? ect... The lady working your breakfast well can not say enough about her and all the hard work to keep up with the breakfast bar and all the people in the dinning area every morning, and never once did she miss a beat with KEEPING EVERYTHING FULL... AND HOW she kept a smile on her face and able to remain so friendly during the busy time, she should give lessons....

AGAIN A BIG SHOUT OUT AND THANK YOU TO EVERYONE FROM THE 4:30 AM CHECK IN FRONT DESK STAFF, HOUSEKEEPING THE ROOMS ARE SO CLEAN, BREAKFAST AND ALL THE OTHERS WE NEVER SEE WHO PLAY A BIG ROLE IN THE GUEST STAY.... THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU....

CANNOT WAIT TO COME BACK IN THE SPRING....

Room Tip: Note there are some nice local restaurants all around. And being there for my birthday was great to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLAYTIME1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
833 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is 9-storey hotel on the far west side of Manhattan, yet close to subways, buses and restaurants. The rooms are compact so don't carry too much baggage; but they're clean. If you're going to need a closet or chest of drawers, maybe because you have lots of clothes or your stay is going to be more than a day or two, you might want to find another lodging. I did not have a fridge nor microwave in my room. The vending was in the basement. The single elevator was often slow in coming. Don't bring a car unless you're O.K with expensive garage parking. But I did have a view of the Hudson and the Wi-Fi worked well. And the morning breakfast was a good starter. You can actually walk to the cruise ship terminal from here and the closest subway is 3 avenues east. Eighth, ninth, and tenth avenues are filled with restaurants but eleventh avenue, closest to the hotel, has few in the vicinity. Again, the rooms are on the small side. Maybe this would be O.K. for single travelers or those on tight budgets. But if you're used to even modest sized rooms, maybe check the adjoining Holiday Inn first.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#260 of 467 in New York City
989 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#285 of 467 in New York City
1,130 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#222 of 467 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#330 of 467 in New York City
565 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#343 of 467 in New York City
164 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown West

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown West
Address: 548 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing