We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, nice atmosphere.”
Review of VIV Thai

VIV Thai
Ranked #904 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed it was a modern restaurant very clean food was delicious. Red curry was very very spicy. Good size portions and service was good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    54
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great spot for an after show bite to eat”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I and another couple visited this restaurant on a Sunday after catching an off-Broadway show. Nothing fancy on the outside, but a very inviting layout on the inside with a lounge area upfront, a decent bar, and a comfortable dining area. The menu was extensive for the size of the restaurant, plenty to chose from and some good wines as well. I'm not an aficionado of Thai food, but this was close to the best I've ever had. Very affordable prices, which is hard to find in the city. Service was very personable and attentive. Would definitely recommend this place if you are in the area!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mannibalignasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Superb Thai in Hell's Kitchen”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stumbled across this lovely restaurant/bar on a recent short break to New York. From the outside it looks small and very narrow but it is very deceptive. Once you walk through the bar area the restaurant opens out at the rear of the building.
The food was wonderful and freshly prepared. The staff were all friendly and welcoming.
It was not cheap but there is a Happy Hour until 7pm where a glass of wine costs $5.
I will definitely return on my next trip to New York.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Agree w/ all reviews!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On a recent trip to meet my daughter in NYC, we perused various restaurants within walking distance of our theatre and w/ an "A" rating. We finally decided to try VIV and were quite pleased w/ the food, staff, and atmosphere. My spicy Red Curry was delicious and definitely hot! Lunch prices were reasonable and they offered a Happy Hour glass of wine for $5. The restroom was attractive but curiously dimly lit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JVCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai in NYC”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food is full of flavour, authentic Thai spices and very well prepared. Very tasty! The decor is modern with low lighting. A great restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenfVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VIV Thai also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to VIV Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing