We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Thai in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of VIV Thai

VIV Thai
Ranked #869 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food is full of flavour, authentic Thai spices and very well prepared. Very tasty! The decor is modern with low lighting. A great restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenfVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    49
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was out first trip and taste of a Thai restaurant. The food was amazing, the drinks were great. The waitress learned of our first time and was very helpful in assisting us in picking our dinners.. she was very patient, insightful and just a pleasure to work with. This restaurant has great ambiance and relaxed atmosphere. Next time we're in NYC, we'll be stopping by again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up for VIV”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A fairly new restaurant in Hell's Kitchen, it was a great meeting place for my friends and me upon my return to New York for the holidays. The portions were large enough, the service was very attentive and very friendly and the food was delicious. The prices for the portions and atmoshphere are what you'd expect in most of the country - thus making it a little bit cheaper than the rest of New York. We went on a weeknight and had no wait to get in which was nice. The atmosphere feels quite modern - a bit dim with blue lighting and the bathrooms are lit by black light (you can put a normal light on too), which was really neat. Overall, a fantastic dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the best Thai restaurant in NYC hands down! Great atmosphere, incredible food all at a great price! When you go, be sure to ask for Miss Jay, she is the manager and will take amazing care of you. She and her staff are all so friendly, fun and will make sure you have a great experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great decor ; great service ; tasty food. This restaurant is very good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Great decor ; great service ; tasty food. This restaurant has a superb inexpensive lunch menu served within a reasonable time - ideal for the office worker & tourist. Dinner was also extremely good, a little more expensive but a greater selection of food. There were always people there whenever we passed by & although they were very, very busy there was no pressure to finish up & leave. I would recommend this restaurant as a place to go to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OZreview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VIV Thai also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to VIV Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing