We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halal Guys

The Halal Guys
Ranked #73 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Simply delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I could never imagine such delicious food could come out of a small truck! And inexpensive...
We were planning to go home and eat it but wanted after tasting it, we finished it right away next to the truck on foot in a freezing January day!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Asli_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,095
    483
    112
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I could never imagine...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went to this "place" after passing next to it for 3 months. Seemed good, smelled good but when you're not a New Yorker, you can be afraid to eat from an outdoor truck. It has a great reputation, people are always waiting in line, no matter the weather, the hour, the day. We tried it, we loed it. Bread, chicken and white sauce. Very tasty! We had another the next day, and the day after.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Staying at New York Hotel Midtown, and spend almost every night waiting in line for dinner. The taste is really good, and the price is really cheap. I have a couple advice, first you can share the food for 2 people, and it only cost you $6. Second, beware of the other copycat claiming to be the same Halal Guys. They sell same food with the same price with mediocre taste.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlamPersada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
889 reviews
656 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Having meetings at the New York Hilton Midtown and having a limited time, I searched for places to eat nearby and came across this food cart, which is actually a number of carts side by side. I love middle eastern food, so I went there to try. The falafel over rice plate was absolutely great and for US$6, one cannot go wrong. There is a line, but it is worth the wait. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MauricioBabilonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I must say the wait in the line is worth it..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I am a big street food fan.. Tried many of them in NYC over the past 5-6 years I have been here. I am especially picky about my Lamb or Chicken over rice.. I must say these guys are great. There quality of Rice and meat is awesome. I usually ask the cart vendors to show me the rice and meat before I try a new cart but these guys are amazing.. Their hot sauce is good too, not that I care about hot sauce. This is definitely one of the things to do in NYC...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viks0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halal Guys also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Halal Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing