We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hot tasty treat on a freezing cold day!”
Review of The Halal Guys

The Halal Guys
Ranked #94 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: Midtown
Rotherham, South Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hot tasty treat on a freezing cold day!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Learned of this stall on Tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed. A healthy queue said it all compared to other stalls in town with the Halal Guys engaging in friendly banter with the waiting customers on this very cold day. Excellent value, awesome 'sandwich' (chicken and 'gyro' lamb with salad and sauces in a wrap) - highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    515
    127
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany,NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The long line at all times of the day tells you all you need to know. If you are near Rockefeller Center, Radio City or anywhere near this place go. My whole family loves The Halal Guys. I recommend the mixed chicken with gyro over rice. For $6 you can't beat it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCFris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Cheap as chips & provides good sustenance when visiting MOMA”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Simple, quick and cheap. This is a huge serving so can be shared if you are not to hungry. The winner is the white sauce and make sure you smother it as there is never enough. The hot sauce has quite a kick to it, so great for adding flavour.
This place is opposite MOMA so we purchased a meal so that we could eat it in the line to enter on Friday evening when it is free. Very Tasty- went back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamBell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome street-vendor food!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've had Middle Eastern fast food in Germany (doners, yufkas) and in Istanbul, some good, some mediocre. The Halal guys' food comes very close to the best of those. (The best yufkas I've ever had: from City Imbiss, Herrenberg, Germany, one of a small chain of imbisses. And unlike some imbibes, this one has seating, which is heaven sent when it's snowing or raining.)
First tried the Halal Guys fare about three years ago. I'm a little wary of eating street vendor food for sanitation reasons. However, ever since my brother-in-law, the brave soul, bought a plate of food from the Halal guys, raved about it and best of all, did not get sick, I have indulged in a beef, lamb, or chicken plate from them on every visit to Manhattan. (I go there once a year.) It's always good. Love the white sauce they use. It's probably very high in fat calories but after walking for miles in Manhattan, I feel I deserve a treat.
Best of all, it's really inexpensive ("cheap" has a negative connotation).
BTW, I've stuck with this one on 6th/53rd, Hilton Hotel side of 6th.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice & cheap”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice food and people, the meat and chicken sandwiches were perfect and delicious.

It is not Resturant as you can see in the images.

Helpful?
Thank Basheer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halal Guys also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Halal Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing