We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Cookies”
Review of Schmackary's

Schmackary's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: What started as a love for cookies at a very young age developed into a search for the best darn cookie recipes on the planet...After years of perfecting each recipe, in 2012 Zachary Schmackary finally opened his first brick and mortar store and released these chewy delights to the general public. We are based in the heart of New York City, with a storefront on 45th Street and 9th Avenue. We deliver door-to-door in NYC as well as ship our goodies Nationwide. Sounds too good to be true? Come in and try for yourself, or place an order and have them shipped right to your door...The cookies speak for themselves.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Cookies”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The cookies here are gluten free and baked fresh! I've tried the bacon maple, schmoores and red velvet, all three were delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    106
    40
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Totally overrated ...”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I have had a couple of cookies that I really have enjoyed but these are not the most amazing cookies ever. Lemon Poppy, Sweet Corn and Pumpkin Spice were all good to very good but a lot of the others are just average. People I know go crazy for these cookies but I just don't get it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nothing Like A Late Night Cookie”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love Smackary's because it is so unique to Hells Kitchen. Unlike some of the larger bake shops, Smackary's still reminds me of the bakeries that I went to as a child (except they only have cookies).
All of their cookies are delicious and really unique. Try the Maple Bacon; its like breakfast in a cookie. Also the Butterscotch cookies are to die for as well. For the traditional, chocolate chip never fails.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Cookies !”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On a recent trip to New York, we tried cookies here with some friends after seeing the Phantom of the Opera. The Schmackary's location on W.45th was a convenient walk from the Majestic (on W.44th). We liked the cookies so much that we went there 2 more times during our stay.
They have a big variety of cookie flavors to choose from. We tried several & took some home with us. The Sch'mores & Caramel Apple Crisp were our favorites.
This cookie store is small with a glass case to view the cookies, a cooler with milk, juices & bottles of water, and just a few places for eating inside (tables & chairs and a small counter area).
Be sure to stop here after a show for a sweet snack. It's such a handy spot to many of the Broadway Theaters. The staff members were very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice desert place”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stopped in here after dinner, mainly b/c it was raining. I'm glad we did b/c we got some very nice deserts. My only issue is that seating is very limited so don't expect to have a place to sit (although we did). Still, a nice little spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmackary's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Schmackary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing