We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety of gluten free goodies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pips Place - The Gluten Free Cakery - CLOSED

Pips Place - The Gluten Free Cakery
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
816 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Great variety of gluten free goodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This cute little gluten free bakery is right around the corner from Bloom’s Deli. I decided to pass up my Baby Cakes stop this trip so I could check out this place and I am glad I did! They have a lot of great and different items that regular bakeries, let alone gluten free bakeries do not carry. Yes, they do have your muffins, cookies and cupcakes but they also have specialty items that Mom makes. They had Magic bars (which I have always referred to as coconut chip bars) and have not had one since going gluten free. It was awesome!!! Black and white cookies (yum!), and other squares. The staff was friendly. They had a couple of small tables inside. I only wish I had grabbed a couple more items to snack on later. I know better next time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You made my trip worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Due to the fact that I have gluten intolerance, I was glad to have discovered Pips place during my recent visit to New York. Thank you for your existence. The fact that you are a gluten free bakery I did not have to worry about cross contamination. I enjoyed the gluten free granola, the cookies and the variety of cakes and cupcakes all of which were splendid. I did not feel like I was losing out by the mere fact that I have a gluten intolerance. I was able to enjoy what normal people enjoy and I thank you for making that possible. I went there so many time I cannot count, and every time I got what I wanted. Once again, thank you for making my trip to New York all the more bearable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahab W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing gluten free bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband is Celiac and we always try gluten free bakeries. This is one of the best we have found on our travels. I talked with the owner and she really understands how to combine GF flours for different types of bakery items. The Coconut Cake was amazing and the cookies were great. We went back three times for breakfast items and desserts. On our last morning we went back for cookies and rolls to take on the plane home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gluten free heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I am an celiac so I have to be especially careful when I eat out, when I stumbled upon Pip’s Place I was delighted, It is a Gluten free persons haven, they only cook gluten free so you don’t have to be scared of cross contamination, the cakes are delicious, and so are the savouries, my favourite was the Coconut cake it is a huge slice and is so moist. It was my favourite café in NYC. If you are gluten free it is a place that I would highly recommend for you to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had the chance to visit Pips this weekend. Wow, what a treat! I bought three different sweets and each was divine. If I could eat like that every day I would never miss gluten! We got to meet the owner and chat with her about celiac, the bakery, etc. She was a charming woman and I wish her and her daughter enormous success with their bakeries.

Helpful?
Thank DFinnCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pips Place - The Gluten Free Cakery also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing