We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”
Review of Crave Fishbar

Crave Fishbar
Reserve with OpenTable
Crave Fishbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #606 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th St
Transit: Lexington Ave and 53st. E,6 Train M15 Bus
Description: Crave Fishbar is a vibrant, convivial restaurant in Midtown Manhattan serving an inspired seafood menu from chef Todd Mitgang. An eclectic mix of reclaimed materials and custom made chairs and tables lend a beachy, rustic feel to the space, which houses a 25-foot-long bar where guests can order from the full dinner menu along with cocktails and wine from a mounted bottle display. Approachable, sophisticated dishes feature local seafood, crudos, and meat dishes that are thoughtfully prepared with both familiar and exotic ingredients.At the 2nd floor bar you will find a full raw bar shucking up a large variety of East and West Coast oysters. Outdoor seating on both floors. Crave Fishbar has taken its place as a neighborhood fixture, providing locals and newcomers alike with a elegant, inviting experience.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The seafood was fresh and innovative. I do not eat meat other than seafood so I love to find good variations. My lobster curry was an interesting blend of yummy flavors with just enough of a bite to be interesting.
The place is small and a little loud but it feels very New York.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerIG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    76
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish - fantastic service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ate here twice on recent trips to NY - September & December of 2012. Interesting preparations and reasonable prices. A nice casual but hip atmosphere, although a bit too noisy in the back. But the best is that the service is really outstanding. A team approach to service and they really make sure you have everything you need.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Crave fishbar is a true neighborhood gem. We had a wonderful dinner. Started with fresh oysters and crudo black bass, then went on to great main courses and dessert. Very approachable and varied wine list. Great atmosphere. Highly recommend the lobster curry and John dory. Lemon bar dessert was also excellent. Service was spot on. We loved it. Very modern and buzzy. Really delighted to discover this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“New York Style ? Just interesting”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

They call themselves a fish bar. But it challenges concept of fish eaters like me. It is rather fusion style. They absorb many ethnic flavor and some will love but some will not appreciate. I have a conservative taste and did not appreciate as much as my younger friends. In other words, you will be disappointed if you expect the traditional cocking of dishes but another side of coin is that the dishes are quite innovative and bring lots of surprise. I ate Lobster curry in Thai style and was acceptable. Also, bill turned out to be very expensive. It is due to the price of wine. The price tag is four times more expensive than wine shop price. A bottle of a standard Argentine red costs nearly 60 USD. Other drinks are also expensive. No digestives below 10 USD. Be careful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gehararigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good fish house: trendy & tasty”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This place was recommended by a local barkeep who said it was a good value and he was right. Although the menu is brief the selections are very good. I had the pan roasted prawns and the sauce was delicious, but the two prawn portion was a little short. The smoked trout entree was also very good, but again, I was not full when finished. The place is small and the ambiance is a mix of a short bar and a dark diner...like the title: a trendy joint, with good food that was slightly overpriced for what we got. Service was excellent, however, but don't try to split the bill among several people...this took time. A one-time visit is worth the trip, but there are better places not far away that have my vote for a repeat dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dubhlann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave Fishbar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Crave Fishbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing