We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a large group!”
Review of Benares

Benares
Reserve with OpenTable
Benares is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,312 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: On W 56th street between Broadway and 8th ave
Transit: Subway : 57th Street Station: Q . R , W Trains Columbus Circle Station: A. B. C, D Trains
Description: At Benares, we offer a selection of traditional and regional Indian cuisines that are carefully prepared and presented by our experienced chefs.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for a large group!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My criteria had been to find a restaurant with delicious food and interesting cocktails that could accomadate a group of 24 people - and Benares totally delivered! The food was great and very easy to share, the drinks were great, and the restaurant did not seem cramped or overwhelmed by us!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yulia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    88
    27
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic fix for our Indian food craving”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had been craving good Indian food for several weeks, so we stopped here for a late dinner upon arriving in NY. We weren't disappointed. The chicken tikka masala was awesome, a little tangier and spicier than most we've had, but incredibly yummy. The highlight if the meal was rogan josh (lamb). It was outstanding!

The service was also fantastic.

If you find yourself in midtown Manhattan (Central Park South) with a craving for Indian, we'd highly recommend Benares.

Helpful?
Thank elpndj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Looking for something other than all American food? Check this place out. Super nice and friendly staff. Food was great. We shared 3 appetizers and 4 main dished. Chicken, goat, eggplant.... Bring your stretchy pants.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good indian and service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had very good service and our na'an and entree was very good. We had a "odd" dish from an indian perspective; seafood and pasta.... it was very good with a hint of curry. We would return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was our first visit- picked it out in a Google search. Our entire experience from food to ambiance to the attentive staff was first class. Every member of the staff made us feel welcome and took care of us. For our appetizers we ordered the kachori and the grilled salmon- mouthwatering! I could have eaten the kachoris all by myself. For our entrees we had the lamb chops (amazing) and the baiguni Mach (amazing too). I would go back in a New York minute- I guess I have to wait until our next visit to the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arunavedula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benares also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Benares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing