We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable views”
Review of Gaonnuri

Gaonnuri
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaonnuri is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #475 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 32nd street
Transit: TRAIN: PENN STATION: AMTRAC/LIRR/NJ TRANSIT/NJ PATH SUBWAY: PENN STATION A/B/C/E/1/2/3 32nd and Broadway Corner N/Q/R BUS: M4/M5/Q32
Description: GAONNURI [gah-ohn-nu-ri]: The Center of the World The name Gaonnuri represents our placement in what we believe is the center of the world, both physically and figuratively. Located in the heart of New York City, a city that represents the intersection of the finest cuisines and eclectic cultures, Gaonnuri seeks to gather people of all backgrounds to share in a traditional Korean dining experience. We hope that the authenticity of the food and the enjoyment of the dining experience will invite patrons for generations to come. Thank you for allowing us to invite and serve you in our own culinary center.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Wow! Views that are just wow. Our food was excellent as well. We opted for the BBQ which was cooked at our table. Shrimp and short ribs. Our favorite part of the meal was the rice bowl. The food was really good but the experience was exceptional!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    112
    40
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrific all round”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great Korean food, excellent service and wonderful view of the New York, what more can one ask. We selected the Korean BBQ option as the main course and it was excellent. Attentive friendly service without being in the way. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and assisted with recommendations once I advised him of my food intolerances, very helpful. It is pricy but for a special evening it was worth it. We didn't have a table near the window but you still have a spectacular view. We booked a table with their online service about 20 minutes before arrival time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgpCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy Milan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's a spectacular location at the 39 th floor with an impressive view on Manhattan.
Our table wasn't located close to the window but the view was beautiful anyway.
We had no acknowledge of korean food and it was really difficult to pick up some food: the appetizers were really too spicy and the barbecued shrimps and chicken weren't really tasty.
Side dishes were all with same sauce, too strong.
Waiters weren't really able to suggest the best choices for us and the kids.
A bit pricey for what you get.
The other good thing is that your clothes don't smell of barbecue, they have an efficient system.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dede P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
197 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Just for the view”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The best is the view. You feel in Tokyo. The barbecue was a chewing gum, they serve a variety of side dishes that are tasteless, cheap and bad quality. They charge you for the view, and not for the food. And one goes for the view not for the food. They have a bar. Better take pictures at the bar and eat in other restaurant in the same street. They want to make it fancy, with their “dress code” and it looks and feels like an hotel restaurant. The salad tasted like it came from the mini market around the corner. I didn’t eat the rice, it was hard.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voolksorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent Korean restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fantastic Korean food. Excellent range of Korean delicacies. Staff very helpful. excellent views.

in normal Korean style you barbecue the food yourself in the center of the table. Nice range of pickles as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaonnuri also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gaonnuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing