We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staten Island Restaurant”
Review of Karl's Klipper

Karl's Klipper
Ranked #7,154 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Typisch US-amerikanisches Restaurant & Bar
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Staten Island Restaurant”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was a nice sit-down family style restaurant on a small budget. Plenty to choose from and it had draft specials

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staten Island Ferry-Accessible”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My sister and I took the Staten Island Ferry (I was visiting from California) and upon landing, wanted to get a bite to eat. Because it was New Year's Day, most places accessible by foot from the ferry were closed. We ventured into Karl's Klipper not knowing what to expect, but figuring we couldn't be choosy. We were pleasantly surprised. We shared an Asian chicken salad (copious) and a pastrami sandwich, had more than plenty to eat, and were served by an obviously overwhelmed staff person. She was great--another employee had called in sick, so she was doing triple-duty as bartender, hostess, and server. In spite of all that, she was good-humored and attentive. What could've been a merely life-supporting meal turned out to be a very enjoyable experience. I would recommend this place as a ferry-friendly destination.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sensulato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, ON
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Close to the ferry service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

St. George's district--We were there on a Friday night, it was noisy at the bar side, at 7:30 pm, but after 8:00 things settled down, when many people left to go to the local theatre. Our meals were very tasty, with plenty of food served. Our waitress was always checking back with us, especially when she thought she was giving slow service, and she kept apologizing (no problem for us), as she was overly busy with a table of 15, who arrived without a reservation (shame!!), and she felt overwhelmed that she couldn't keep-up with her other tables, of smaller groups. She felt so bad, she gave my husband a free beer, which he never expected, as he felt the service was acceptable. Everything worked out perfectly. She was a real trooper>Maggie. Prices were reasonable! We were staying nearby (holidaying), and it would be handy for someone having a meal here, then just a very short walk to the ferry, over to Manhatten.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great local bar”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Karl's is a great bar in a great location. And if laura is working you'll have to try one of her famous bloody marys they we're great

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarwuzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl's Klipper also viewed

 

Been to Karl's Klipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing