We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,024)
Filter reviews
5,024 results
Traveler rating
3,716
941
255
76
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,716
941
255
76
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar parker quinn bryant park hat factory cupcakes the empire state building new york magnolia bakery great hotel live jazz boutique hotel hotel guests times square street noise definitely stay here again location was perfect penn station
Filter
Updating list...
1,814 - 1,819 of 5,024 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2016

What a stay! I was on business this past weekend with an important client and the service was OUTSTANDING. The hotel took the utmost care of us. The hotel itself is absolulety chic and beautiful. Ashley Gabel the Guest services manager and the staff treated us like absolute gold. Thank you, Ashley!! I am not easily impressed with service and I was blown away. I am already planning my next client event at this hotel. The rooms are beautiful and the whole hotel smells amazing. If you are looking for a real experience, you want to stay here. Let this amazing staff take care of you!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016

Thank you for your enthusiastic review and for acknowledging our guest service team especially Ashley! We are proud to have blown you away, Nicole C thank you for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Great dark atmosphere. Rooftop was a very cool place to hang out at the end of the night. I'm 67 yo female and loved it. Food was great and employees were smiling...except for one. Oh well didn't ruin my day.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016

Happy to hear you enjoyed a hip five star experience at our property, Pat M, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

I am so pleased to have chosen The Refinery Hotel on our last trip to New York.
Location: Midtown Really good an central about 5/10 mins walk in each direction to lots of points of interest such as Times Square, Grand Cental Station, Macys, Empire State Building...etc I have to comment on a previous review "it's on the noisiest Street in town. It's actually on a one way street which is not as busy as others around, an hey its New York it's loud an exciting!.
Hotel: Really cool smaller building, an old hat factory which has been tastefully renovated smart, cool, clean and you can see why it's been voted one the best small luxury hotels in many magazines. Reception fast efficient and friendly, concierge knowledgable and approachable sorting requests for me with no hassles.
Facilities of Note:
The hotel has one of the best rooftop bars in the city and is very busy as this is no secret. A separate lift is used for public going to the top 13th floor for excellent food and drinks and it can get quite lively on a weekend but it's a good vibe and does not encroach on staying guests. The views are amazing of the Empire State Building. Try a drink or some food all we sampled was really good.
Rooms;
We were given a complimentary upgrade to a Empire State view room on the 9th floor due to a birthday and with previous communication with the hotel who remembered. We also a birthday cake form Magnolia Bakery an a bottle of wine, wow that's cusfomer service. Thanks again o Ashley Gable Guest Services Manger. Room very large compared with other hotels others have mentioned an complained about. Bathroom large clean modern but in keeping with the building. All the usual items expected in a 5* with an amazing view. Housekeeping great, all staff great actually interested in their hotel and making your experience great without looking for tips. Couldn't ask for anything more. There is no reason not to stay here again or try for the first time. Do it you won't regret your choice. Now in my top 3 hotels in the world I have stayed in for overall experience. Highly Recommended

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank JetSetHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

We are so proud to be one of your top 3 hotels in the world JetSetHarry! Thank you for your detailed description we look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We have stayed at this hotel several times, and every stay has been an amazing one. Trendy, classy hotel, that has awesome rooms, great service and provides and overall exceptional experience. We have stayed there as a couple and with friends, and both experiences are fun! We recommend this hotel to everyone, and can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ChrisChrisM2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Thank you for being our repeat guest, ChrisChrisM2016 we appreciate your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back on another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

The hotel is beautiful and SO clean. The staff was very nice but the front desk employees I dealt with on the phone and at check out were not very aware of how to do things so something that should have taken 10 mins took over an hour. The room was perfect and so clean. The only issue was that there were two TVs in our room and only one remote to control both. This resulted in us buying a movie by accident on one TV when we thought we were simply changing a channel on the other tv. We were charged for the movie ($20) and were told that they would "investigate". Otherwise the food and space was very nice. I would absolutely go back.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaime b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Thank you for staying with us, jaime b we appreciate your feedback and will be reviewing your comments with our entire team as we continue to improve. We hope that you will choose to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews