We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Unforgettable”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I travel often to NYC on business but this was my first time staying at the Refinery Hotel. It is without a doubt the BEST experience I have ever had in a NYC hotel. Let me start by emphasizing the simple but sophisticated vibe of the hotel. Walking through the doors into the hotel you forget about the speed at which the city moves behind you. The door men greet you with a smile and welcome you into a new world. The Refinery was once a hat factory and they chose to preserve that history keeping a hat factory theme throughout the hotel. The staff is one of the most superior i have aver encountered. They are efficient, knowledgeable, and friendly. The room had hard wood floors, plenty of space, and free WiFi in the rooms and throughout the property. The small details in the room are fabulous and the housekeeping staff, although never seen, did an impeccable job.

The Refinery Rooftop has a small menu and a not so small drink menu. The view is inspiring and the atmosphere is inviting and fun. The Parker and Quin, the main restaurant, served me the most delicious pork belly flatbread i have ever had in my life. I also had a rib-eye during my stay and it was cooked perfectly and was delicious.

The hotel is moments away from anything you want to do because of its close proximity to the heart of the city.

I will never stay in another NYC hotel when i come on personal vacation time. This hotel is a true gem and must be experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your continued support Nelson T. We are always delighted to have you at Refinery Hotel, and are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,139 - 3,145 of 4,362 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here for a week and this hotel is highly recommendable. Clean, friendly staff, nice art and furnitures... They offered some champagne and strawberries with chocolate when they heard about our engagement in NY. The bed and room were decorated...very nice to come home that night!
We also enjoyed the rooftop bar. The location is ideal, you're close to the subway, Bryant Park... We come back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you, Claire V. We are honored to have been part of your engagement, and are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a relatively new hotel between Times Square and Herald Square presumably located in an old factory. Personnel wear suspenders and work shirts, as if they are stand-ins for 1920 workers, except much younger and better groomed. Very chic.

There are a lot of things to really love about this place -- INCREDIBLY helpful and cheerful desk clerks; a rooftop bar that is loaded with charm and ambiance as well as a stunning view of the Empire State Building; very comfy beds with soft, top of the line (high thread count) sheets and comforters; very well-appointed rooms with every thing you need; and a convenient location.

As a matter of personal preference, I wasn't crazy about the aesthetic. It doesn't evoke "factory" at all -- way too chic. Everything in the guest rooms is hard surfaces, black wood, white tiles, metal, mostly bare floors except for right around the bed, and fairly dim lighting.

Minor issue was that other than the bedding, nothing was soft -- not even the towels or the robe. The towels were absorbent, but not soft, which I guess is better than soft but not absorbent. I, however, prefer ones that are both.

The really problem. and the reason for four stars instead of five, is noise. The bare wood floors and hard surfaces may be aesthetically appealing to some, but every footstep can be heard in the room below. Above us, there was a woman in heels. She walked around, a lot, between 11 p.m. and midnight. And we heard every step. The noise from the very loud party in the next room (music, shouting, stamping) just reverberated through the walls. (Kudos to management, which shut the party down around midnight -- we weren't the ones that complained, but I imagine the people above and below were getting even a bigger dose than we were). We could also hear street noise. People go to hotels to sleep, and noise is not conducive to sleeping.

The Refinery is trying really hard to be trendy and chic, and the young, attractive crowd at the rooftop bar suggests they attract the market segment they were aiming for. But the people checking in and out were not young and chic -- they were the typical out-of-towners (hey, it's a hotel after all), that rented a hotel room so they would have a quiet comfy room and a hot shower. While The Refinery does really well on a lot of other things, comfort is somewhat lacking. Adding some more carpeting (not the horrid wall to wall stuff, just enough to deaden footsteps), some soft towels and maybe a touch of color here and there would do a lot to make the people that rent rooms as happy as the young people partying on the roof.

Next trip to NY, I would absolutely go The Refinery for the rooftop bar, but with all the great hotels in NY, I'd have to get a great price deal to go back again to sleep. There are just too many places that are chic, friendly, comfortable AND quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 59GoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your thorough review, and wonderful observations about our staff and service, 59GoTravel. We are taking your comments into account and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed here for business and was pleased. Right off 6th avenue and a short walk from penn station. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are typical of NYC hotels, small. They are nicely appointed and comfortable. There is a fun rooftop bar too. Looking forward to staying here again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank dubbs605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for posting, dubbs605. We are so glad that you found us and are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you are planning a trip to New York CIty look no further than The Refinery Hotel for your stay. The design of the hotel is true to it's industrial roots and is very well done. The beds are so comfortable and the staff are fabulous. The location is ideal being close to Broadway, Times Square, The Empire State Building, Bryant Park and the subway system. There is no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Seashell0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation, Seashell0033. We can’t wait to have you back on a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the Refinery Hotel for one week. It`s a beautiful hotel with a very nice roof bar. The rooms are big and luxurious. It`s really central and you have everything nearby.
This hotel has the best service I have experience. Love to come back soon.

Room Tip: Try the Deluxe Double Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lekross30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for calling us the best in New York, Lekross30! Your recommendation is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel. The staff goes out of their way to endure that you have a nice stay. One night we were cold and they not only brought us blankets but they warmed them up first.
The design of the rooms is very special. It feels like coming home to an oasis which is something you really need in NYC.
The bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean, even big plank hardwood floors.
Only downside was that it is very close to Times Square. For us this neighborhood was a bit too busy but some people would probably like being so central.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wietholter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your review, Wietholter, and for recognizing our design and our team's great work. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 473 in New York City
3,274 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 473 in New York City
3,847 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 473 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 473 in New York City
3,057 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#51 of 473 in New York City
3,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $251 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing