We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1920s style with all modern amenities!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1920s style with all modern amenities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nothing but amazing things to say about Refinery Hotel! Arrived at the hotel around 11:00am to store our luggage and they found us a room so we could check in right away. Stayed in the Studio Queen, the rooms are beautiful, spacious and have all of the amenities you could possibly require. I loved the ambiance and decor in the room. Make sure to check out the rooftop bar - absolutely gorgeous view! Staff was great, friendly and willing to assist with any request. Location was absolutely perfect. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andmpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Andmpeters, thank you for you for posting! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our style. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,765
    765
    191
    45
    22
See reviews for
908
1,366
147
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Really close to Herald Square and good customer service. We traveled with a baby and I called in advance to make sure the room had a tub. When we arrived, it did not. However, they paid attention to the requests made at the time of the reservation. We didn't have an adjoining room and they made sure to give us a room that was quiet.
The bathroom was not my favorite - in fact, the décor in general is really not my taste. However, we were comfortable, and the hotel was fine for a weekend stay.
You can go the rooftop bar with children only during mid-afternoon, which puts a damper on your sightseeing if you are out all day and have to come all the way back to the hotel to experience it.

Room Tip: Request a non-adjoining room that is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your candid review, dd421, we will be thoroughly reviewing the details of your comments as we continue to improve our service. We hope that you will choose to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

As full disclosure I am typing this review on behalf of my mother as I did all the arrangement for her and my aunt to stay at the Refinery Hotel for a couple of nights in July 2014. The reservation process was handled impeccably by Ms Lauren Greenbaum and Renita Matthaeus.

Check in was a breeze. The room was beautiful, clean, spacious and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is convenient to midtown and the metro is nearby.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perrin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are delighted to hear that your Mother and Aunt enjoyed their stay, Perrin99. We are looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I liked that I could check in early, the central location and the cool decor and great toiletries. At check in they said there was complimentary wine from 5-6 pm. When we came down at 5:15 and there was nothing there, the front desk associate was confused and said it would be out soon. It never came. Why even tell guests? The bathroom doors look cool with veined glass but are see through. Mini fridge is tiny- couldn't put anything in it with all the drinks already stocked. Pleasant stay overall and the bed was quite comfortable. Would give 3.5 stars (circles) but not an option.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HBerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We value your feedback, HBerke, and are sorry that you did not receive our complimentary wine upon check in. We will be reviewing these details with our team as we continue to improve and refine our service. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. The location was quite good. Not really at the center of all the action, but W 38th St., one or two buildings away from the corner of the Avenue of the Americas, was a good location to start a short comfortable walk to Herald Square or even shorter walk to Bryant Park on 40th... or Times square if that's your thing.

The room itself was quite charming. No carpet here. Nice wood floors. Charming furniture and bathroom, customized amenities. If you're looking for a Marriott...this definitely isn't one. Nevertheless, there's a small gym and even a pool. If you're looking for something quite unique, reasonable rates can be had especially from the hotel's own website.

The roof top bar seemed to be a happening place. Even local New Yorkers go enjoy a drink up there with a view of the empire state.

A tip though if you can't take city noise, make sure to ask for a higher floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPSFManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
JPSFManila, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to read you enjoyed the unique atmosphere of our hotel and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Arrived at the hotel on 8/1 and was instantly greeted by Ray at the door who was quick to help with luggage and getting the truck parked. Found a very chic hotel room that had a fantastic feel to it. When I headed downstairs, the doorman (Harvey) went out of his way to suggest a few spots to go to which was greatly appreciated. I just can't say enough about the service, so if you're in town, ask for Harvey and Ray and you can expect to be taken care of. Thanks again everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review Jason B. Your compliments to Ray and Harvey are much appreciated. We hope to see you the next time you are in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July 2014. Fantastic location, great roof top bar and kind, friendly service. My Mum is in a wheelchair and we had a great room with facilities for her and the staff were kind, helpful and friendly. Valet parking a bit expensive at 67 dollars plus tax but what can you expect fot central NY? Would definitely recommend this hotel and will go back soon I hope. Location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samwhayjen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation Samwhayjen s! We look forward to welcoming You and your Mum back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing