We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at the Refinery Hotel for four nights and could not fault it. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel like you matter. The doormen are fabulous and remember/greet you every time you pass in and out, and the reception staff are extrmemly friendly and welcoming - they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.

The hotel itself is wonderful. Someone has put a lot of thought into creating the right atmosphere - the attention to detail is great, and it's carried through to all areas of the hotel.

The rooftop bar is stunning - you must visit at least once for cockatails. The lobby bar is also fabulous, and Lorenzo who runs the bar on Saturdays is a great guy. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, but wish we had...on our last mornnig we had breakfast there and the food was delicious.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at The Refinery and wouldn't consider anywhere else if we return to New York.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S_J149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We look forward to your return visit and thank you for taking the time to post, S_J149.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,090)
There are newer reviews for Refinery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,144 - 3,150 of 4,094 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel is terrific and the staff provide excellent customer service. Though I didnt eat here some of my friends did and they really enjoyed the quality of the food. It stood out even in NYC which is not easy.

The only issue I have is with the bathroom. Let's just say they have not been designed with privacy in mind! It's a shame as it's a lovely hotel with lots of unique decor. However, fundamentally, a bathroom has to have an opaque door and should also be an enclosed space! We booked the queen room which was the cheapest. The better rooms didnt seem to have this issue. However, at over $200 per night the bathroom should be better.

Room Tip: See above - if you want a "conventional" bathroom - you may have to pay for a larger room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheikh_Well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review, Sheikh_Well. We hope you will be staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Aruba. We arrived very early in the morning and needless to say the hotel didn't have a room ready. Nor did I expect them to. We went on our way to explore the city. When we arrived back at the hotel, late evening, to our delight the gentleman at the reception upgraded our room! The staff at this hotel and I mean everyone at this hotel were the best. Being that I myself am in the customer service business all the staff gave a five star service experience.

The hotel's location was close to everything we wanted to explore 5 minute walk to Macy's and Lord and Taylor department stores. If you like to walk it's a fifteen minute walk to Time Square. A five minute walk to the Empire State Building.

The room we had was spacious (for NYC standards) bathroom very clean that's a must for me.The bed was very comfortable for me not so much for my partner ( he has a bad back). The decor in the room is very modern with dark wood floors. The room we had gave us a view of the Empire State Building that was amazing!

If you prefer to stay at a hotel other than the many chain hotels in NYC, I highly recommend this hotel. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iecNTonawanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Your recommendation means a lot to us, iecNTonawanda. Thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This was only my second visit to New York and whilst the first hotel I stayed in last year was 'adequate', The Refinery was excellent. From the friendly helpful staff to the comfortable luxurious rooms. The hotel is also extremelly popular both with guests and visitors to the bar and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will certainly be visiting again soon

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We strive for excellent service every day, Jim C--thank you for your review. We look forward to your visiting us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night during our honeymoon and fell in love with the hotel. The rooms felt quite spacious (for NYC), helped in large part by the very tall ceilings. The place was clean, refined, and luxurious without being ritzy or overdone. The decoration and details had a gorgeous antique flair (while likely being brand new). Our walk-in shower was amazing, and we loved the ample and adjustable lighting. The staff was even nice enough to give us a little cake and bottle of wine for our honeymoon. We definitely hope to come back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We look forward to your next stay with us, pinkedlady, and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The refinery theme of this hotel first appeared a litle odd for a hotel. But ultimately through the stay it was just perfect. The lobby and floor corridors would actually be quite hot but when entering the room it was nice and comfortable (don't know if it was part of the theme or just winter heating!) But very arty in the full layout. A good pub/bar on the top floor with many bouncers guarding the main floor. The theme continues in the restaurant for breakfast. Overall really nice. The only odd thing was that we had a room for 4 fuly paid for. But why would hotel policy have breakfast included for only two??
Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellersimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your post, hotkitkatos. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We'd just like to thank the delightful staff of The Refinery for making our Mom's 83rd birthday visit to New York so memorable. From your consideration in accommodating us with early check in after arduous flights to the totally unexpected and wickedly delicious chocolate birthday cake (washed down with a beautiful bottle of Refinery red you left in for us). Thank you, thank you, thank you. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dark_beeswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

dark_beeswing, thank you for your post. We are glad that everyone enjoyed the visit and we hope you all will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,016 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,805 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#64 of 468 in New York City
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $294 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing