We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Refinery Hotel a great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #27 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Refinery Hotel a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My 13 year old daughter and I stayed at the Refinery Hotel over Canadian March break a week ago. We were both very impressed with all aspects of the hotel. Location was central to everything, Bryant Park and Grand Central plus shopping in fashion district were very close by. 20 blocks easy walk to Central Park. Close to all the subways.

Service was impeccable. Room was stylish, quiet, comfortable beyond compare, and clean. We were on the 7th floor facing the courtyard so very quiet but no view. On check in we were upgraded at no cost to a double queen bed room, which was very much appreciated!

Didn't get a chance to see the rooftop since kids not allowed up at night, too bad.

The Restaurant food was delicious! Although expensive for breakfast - we ate there once and opted for Bryant Deli across the street for takeout breakfasts.

I would come back in a minute, but perhaps just with my husband next time. Very romantic hotel, with a great bar and singers most nights, but kids not allowed to sit in the bar area.

On our last day there I walked into first set of double glass doors at the entrance and slammed my nose! (My fault). Staff were so kind and helpful in getting me quick medical aid (all was fine!), free breakfast, etc. So much appreciated the kindness and care shown to me. Thanks to the hotel manager and great staff! However, would suggest the hotel put a stripe or some stylish graphic on the glass doors, so this doesn't happen to another patron!

Great hotel, wonderful visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Cindy B--thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you had an overall excellent experience and we hope you will be making your return trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,129
    597
    149
    33
    18
See reviews for
670
1,073
117
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been covered on the reviews?
We stayed for 5 nights and really can't fault the hotel or it's staff. We were welcomed with excellent service from the moment our cab arrived outside which made life easier after a long haul flight. Check in was smooth and as we were unpacking there was a knock on the door to give us complimentary water and the latest Time Out magazine for what was going on in the city.
The staff were very helpful in printing out tickets for the 9/11 memorial which we had booked on our iPad (free, fast wifi throughout the hotel), making sightseeing recommendations & giving us tips to save us time. Finally booking our cab back to JFK, taking into account busier traffic because it was the day of the St Patricks day parade.
We ate twice in the Parker & Quinn restaurant and couldn't fault the food or the service, likewise at the rooftop bar. The cocktails were dangerously gorgeous!
I would echo previous reviews in that the hotel is trendy without being pretentious & the bed was really comfy. The only (very slight) negatives would be the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room but at least there was a plentiful supply of free coffee in the lobby which certainly set us up for the day. Finally the wardrobe was of a reasonable size but did lack shelf space. Certainly neither of these detracted from the amazing stay & we would definitely look to go back should we return to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher the better (they do supply earplugs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We look forward to your return visit, Elvister, thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in ( and I have travelled to more than 50 countries). What I like:
The staff - friendly, helpful and casual.
The room - beautiful, tasteful, fairly quiet considering the location in midtown. View of the Empire State building from our window. Beautiful bathroom. Someone with passion for design and concept have done a wonderful job.
Sleeping: Comfy beds and good curtains to make it dark.
Morning coffee: Go down to reception and get great free coffee to take back to your room to help you wake up.

Room Tip: As high up as possible in the building to get distance from the street voice. Or get a room not faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinDelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review, KarinDelin--we are happy that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel makes a great first impression and reception made a good effort to get me a room with a view which was much appreciated! Aziz and Basha and all the doormen were extremely professional but the majority of the other hotel staff (reception & restaurant) came across as young and arrogant with no real focus or understanding on how important good customer service is. Each interaction I had left me thinking that the staff are not interested in making a good impression and would perhaps fit in better working in Abercrombie & Fitch where they are paid to act and be cool.

Overall I enjoyed my stay but would say that the hotel staff need a stronger focus on the little things that often make a big difference.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Schradd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We value your feedback, Schradd123, and will be reviewing these details with our team as we continue to improve and refine our service. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I'm very often in NYC and never been twice to the same hotel. Always very disappointed by the quality / price ratio. I feel like I have finally found a place where to stay. The refinery is very well located. Rooms are spacious and well decorated, in a stylish NYC style. The staff is really nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank emfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for posting, emfal, and for your recommendation. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here two nights on a stop over through NYC. It does have a "vibe" as they say. Perhaps best described as a mixture of hip bistro mixed with Barney's coupled with a dash of something vaguely European. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast at Parker & Quinn was very good and the rooftop bar is a fun place for a drink. I liked the location. Walking distance to the Empire State Building, 30 Rock, Time Square (although, not sure why you would want to go here) and MSG. Longer walk to Central Park but doable. Otherwise, a short train or cab ride to everything else. I was on the 5th floor and there was some street noise but nothing major and it is NYC afterall...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, David E, we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel has a very special vibe…and, that's all due to the hospitality shown by the staff! Their interactions with you, day and night, were professional, but not boring and stale. They were sooo much fun to talk to and always smiling! They were very knowledgable about the city and gave great recommendations on nightlife and food! Our room was spacious, clean, and had a great view which was an added bonus! I will absolutely stay there again…and, again…and, again! The adjoining restaurant and roof top bar had excellent food/service. Special recognition needs to be given to Steven Desrosiers, security officer. His professionalism was outstanding! His hospitality went above and beyond my expectations as a female hotel guest who was traveling with 2 girlfriends! It was very obvious that he was passionate about his job and his responsibilities of making sure the guests felt safe and secure! He took pride in what he did which was so refreshing to see these days! The entire staff made me feel like they were at my disposable, but Steve's service was noteworthy! He is a true asset to the Refinery and I hope his service does not go unrecognized. Special shout out to Bellmen Mike and Nazim and security officer John!! So, please consider nothing else when looking for hotel accomodations in NYC…you, absolutely, will be not disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and thoughtful post, mary b. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,081 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,887 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#22 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing