We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #30 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in ( and I have travelled to more than 50 countries). What I like:
The staff - friendly, helpful and casual.
The room - beautiful, tasteful, fairly quiet considering the location in midtown. View of the Empire State building from our window. Beautiful bathroom. Someone with passion for design and concept have done a wonderful job.
Sleeping: Comfy beds and good curtains to make it dark.
Morning coffee: Go down to reception and get great free coffee to take back to your room to help you wake up.

Room Tip: As high up as possible in the building to get distance from the street voice. Or get a room not faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarinDelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review, KarinDelin--we are happy that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,367 - 3,373 of 4,310 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel makes a great first impression and reception made a good effort to get me a room with a view which was much appreciated! Aziz and Basha and all the doormen were extremely professional but the majority of the other hotel staff (reception & restaurant) came across as young and arrogant with no real focus or understanding on how important good customer service is. Each interaction I had left me thinking that the staff are not interested in making a good impression and would perhaps fit in better working in Abercrombie & Fitch where they are paid to act and be cool.

Overall I enjoyed my stay but would say that the hotel staff need a stronger focus on the little things that often make a big difference.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Schradd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

We value your feedback, Schradd123, and will be reviewing these details with our team as we continue to improve and refine our service. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I'm very often in NYC and never been twice to the same hotel. Always very disappointed by the quality / price ratio. I feel like I have finally found a place where to stay. The refinery is very well located. Rooms are spacious and well decorated, in a stylish NYC style. The staff is really nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank emfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for posting, emfal, and for your recommendation. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here two nights on a stop over through NYC. It does have a "vibe" as they say. Perhaps best described as a mixture of hip bistro mixed with Barney's coupled with a dash of something vaguely European. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast at Parker & Quinn was very good and the rooftop bar is a fun place for a drink. I liked the location. Walking distance to the Empire State Building, 30 Rock, Time Square (although, not sure why you would want to go here) and MSG. Longer walk to Central Park but doable. Otherwise, a short train or cab ride to everything else. I was on the 5th floor and there was some street noise but nothing major and it is NYC afterall...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your review, David E, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel has a very special vibe…and, that's all due to the hospitality shown by the staff! Their interactions with you, day and night, were professional, but not boring and stale. They were sooo much fun to talk to and always smiling! They were very knowledgable about the city and gave great recommendations on nightlife and food! Our room was spacious, clean, and had a great view which was an added bonus! I will absolutely stay there again…and, again…and, again! The adjoining restaurant and roof top bar had excellent food/service. Special recognition needs to be given to Steven Desrosiers, security officer. His professionalism was outstanding! His hospitality went above and beyond my expectations as a female hotel guest who was traveling with 2 girlfriends! It was very obvious that he was passionate about his job and his responsibilities of making sure the guests felt safe and secure! He took pride in what he did which was so refreshing to see these days! The entire staff made me feel like they were at my disposable, but Steve's service was noteworthy! He is a true asset to the Refinery and I hope his service does not go unrecognized. Special shout out to Bellmen Mike and Nazim and security officer John!! So, please consider nothing else when looking for hotel accomodations in NYC…you, absolutely, will be not disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and thoughtful post, mary b. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Having a weekend to ourselves are rare so we wanted to be in the middle of manhattan, but not have that busy noisy city experience. Refinery was just that place. Great rooms, love the size of the bathrooms, great size room because of the high ceilings. No view in your rooms, until you get to the top of the building. The rooftop bar has a fantastic view of the Empire State Building and a very friendly staff. Get a room on the higher levels they are nice and quiet and you need a key to get upstairs which is a safe feeling. The staff downstairs where very accommodating and friendly. Overall we had a great weekend and I am going back for work! Can't wait

Room Tip: The higher the number the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel on your business trip. Thank you for your post, shari C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I went to NYC to celebrate my birthday and to visit our daughter for the weekend. We reserved a room with 2 queen beds and requested a room away from the elevators and ice machine and high enough up to minimize the street noise but not too high to hear the rooftop bar noise. All of our requests were honored, and the hotel had this wonderful cake and a bottle of wine waiting in the room for us to help with the birthday celebration! Everyone was very friendly and the room was very comfortable. We had a great stay and would be happy to return on our next visit to NYC! We were able to walk North to Bryant Park as well as South to Union Square very easily, with subway access only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for posting, Norma P, we hope you will be making a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 471 in New York City
3,218 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,824 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 471 in New York City
1,456 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 471 in New York City
3,006 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $250 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing