We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary design, great central location, friendly & helpful staff”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We traveled to NYC with our two kids for Thanksgiving / Macy's Day Parade. Found this new hotel via TripAdvisor. Contemporary design and great central location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Parker & Quinn restaurant was packed with a young crowd, but they accommodated us right away - good food & service. Rooftop bar was very cool - would have loved to hang out there sans kids. We have recommended The Refinery to friends & family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We appreciate your recommendation, TrueTravel1, and thank you for taking the time to post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,290 - 3,296 of 4,216 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

If you are tired of the boring and outdated model of hotels, no matter what chain, head to the Refinery Hotel! What an amazing, funky and retro style (yet everything there is modern high tech) place, set in the 1930's style. Bar and restaurant are exceptional, the rooftop bar amazing, plus you get an intimate an up-close view of the Empire State Building. Staff exceptional and attentive, from Catherine at the bar, to Harvey and Patrick (I think it was Patrick) at the door, who made sure I never got lost and return safely. Will come at any time and at any price.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank stephen2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We will look forward to your next stay with us, stephen2d. Thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

From my front desk experience, to the beautiful airy rooms, gorgeous bathrooms, lovely public spaces, and fantastic guest service, I couldn't have been more pleased with my stay at the Refinery. A housekeeping attendant knocked on my door with a bottle of water right after I'd passed her in the hall. She said, "I noticed that you must have just exercised and thought you might like some water." (I had just run.) The styling in the Refinery in the hotel is impeccable, but yet it doesn't try to be too hip for it's own good, which elevates the experience above many of its competitors (Eventi, for example.) There is just a quiet, single purpose among the hotel staff of treating everyone in a warm, subdued, helpful manner. They've found the perfect balance of aesthetics, service, facilities, staff. Well done, Refinery!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, nicNC. We hope that you will be visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our stay at the Refinery Hotel was great in every way. The staff at the front desk was wonderful and even welcomed us with a glass of wine. Our room was large and the beds were very comfortable. Many thanks to Fernando for his fabulous Old Fashion and Basha for all of his efforts with our luggage and the taxi. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, Tim M. Thank you for posting--we hope that you and your family will be making a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a great break in New York at this lovely hotel. We stayed 5 nights and found that the location was an ideal base for exploring and sightseeing. The decor is modern, luxurious with a hint of the industrial feel in keeping with the building. Our room was on the 11th floor and we had a view of the Empire State Building - we were glad to be on a high floor because there was still some traffic noise - but what can you expect in the city! The hotel thoughtfully had provided ear plugs with the toiletries in the bathroom - it's that kind of place where you don't need to ask for anything because they are already on it! The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming from the door staff Aziz and Harvey to the folks on reception and in the bars. We went to the rooftop one night which was great and also had a glass of wine in the bar downstairs where they have live music in the evenings. If you like jazz, Sarah was awesome. It was a wonderful stay - it was great to go back to the chilled luxury of the hotel after a busy day of wearing out the pavements. I'd recommend and would return myself.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a high floor as this would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Brenda P, thank you for your recommendation. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After returning home from a 4 night break at the fabulous Refinery Hotel, I can't recommend the hotel enough!
The staff were attentive, helpful and very welcoming. The room (we stayed on the 12th floor by the lift) provided a perfect base for our sightseeing trip, the room was a great size, really clean and comfortable. There was a small amount of noise from construction workers on the opposite side of the street bit not enough for us to moan about, after all it's New York! Considering we were a floor below the rooftop bar, you would never have known - you couldn't hear a thing. A visit to the rooftop bar is a must, as well as the Parker and Quinn restaurant where we both enjoyed the best steaks we have ever eaten!! I can't rave about the place enough. The location of the hotel is great for most major tourist attractions and literally 2 blocks to get to the subway to get you everywhere else! I would recommend everyone to try the Refinery and if I was to ever return to New York- I would definitely be booking my stay there!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma_270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your enthusiasm, Gemma_270. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just had an overnight at this most charming hotel and were impressed from the moment the front doors were swung wide to welcome us. Visually the structure is a delight, from the lobby's vaulted ceiling to the detailed industrial chic theming throughout--including a pop-up "inkwell" on our room's desk that housed electrical outlets. Somebody really cared about the design of the Refinery and it shows everywhere you look. We loved our room, where the theming continued, and appreciated the attention paid to lighting and bedding--both excellent. The public spaces are delightful too--the lobby bar is spacious, relaxing, and quiet; the restaurant is attractive with tufted banquettes and upscale homestyle food (killer beets); the rooftop bar is glamorous while being cozy (although with a crowd a few decades younger than us and quite a few decibels louder, we did only a quick tour and then retreated to the lobby bar). Staff were friendly, professional, super-alert, and thoroughly enjoyable to interact with. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our design details and thank you for your review, musicmom3. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 469 in New York City
3,147 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 469 in New York City
2,921 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,291 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $251 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing