We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting NYC on December 22nd
The stuff of the hotel were so friendly and welcoming!!!
Beautiful room (we were in the deluxe double queen)
Great location (corner of six ave and 38th street)
Minute walk to Bryant park and other places
This is going to be the place for us whenever we go back to Manhattan !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for posting, Shlomi S--we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,446 - 3,452 of 4,221 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel! It was a lovely place to spend the weekend before Christmas especially because Times Square and Rockefeller Center is so close. The hotel is beautifully decorated, from the lobby and rooftop bar with a great view of the Empire State Building. I enjoyed my sleep as well because of the most comfortable pillows and mattress ever. To top of my lovely stay, the breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We appreciate your thoughtful comments, Nick M, and are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The cleanliness, service, design, and location of this hotel was fantastic. Will definitely stay here again when traveling to Manhattan.

Our room did appear slightly drafty but it wasn't a large issue that the heater or blankets couldn't fix.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewartS43A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, StewartS43A. We hope you will be making your return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

There no words to describe how wonderful stay we had here at the Refinery. We chose this hotel due to its very positive reviews and I must say that I felt lucky and happy for choosing it. Being on our honeymoon it was so important for us to enjoy our stay and I must say that indeed everyone there exceeded our expectations. Lovely place, so cozy, large rooms, rooftop bar is a must, fantastic smilie employees, looking to assist you with every little detail you had. Had a fantastic room overlooking the empire state which it was beautiful especially now with all the Christmas feeling. A massive thank you to all and special thanks to Mr. Ouachani for making us feel so welcoming. We are already planning our next trip for next year and we know for sure that Refinery is the place to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate70Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next! Thank you for your post, Kate70Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great Hotel with many great features. Perfectly located in mid town near all. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel had a warm, welcoming feeling. Rooms were real nice and the mattress was one of the best I've slept on. The Parker and Quinn Restaurant located in the hotel served an excellent breakfast / brunch. The roof top lounge / bar is a happening place, with a fireplace, outdoor lounge with a great view of the Empire State Buildings. I highly recommend the Refinery Hotel and plan on staying on my next overnight to Manhattan. Real nice find.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We greatly value your recommendation, Roseanne H. Thank you, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our stay at the Refinery was wonderful from beginning to end. We had requested last minute reservations for several rooms on one of the busiest weekends in the city. Randy,(the hotel manager) was more than accommodating and was able to secure rooms for us. The staff is warm and friendly, we were always greeted with a smile and a pleasant word.
The rooms are large and beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. The bathroom was perfectly appointed with everything that you would expect and more.
We went to the rooftop bar which has a very inviting atmosphere ( roaring fireplace, cushiony sofas) and a most beautiful view of the Empire State Building. Steven was extremely attentive and helpful in arranging seating for our group and we were able to sit together.
That night I slept on the most comfortable bed with the most perfect pillows and after waking refreshed enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the Park & Quinn restaurant in the hotel before we headed home.
At the front desk, Bassim was warm and friendly, even making check out a pleasure.
We travel often and have enjoyed our stays in many hotels, The Refinery is hands down the best one yet. Thank you for a truly memorable visit.
As an added note, I will be inquiring as to where and how I might be able to purchase the same mattress, bedding and pillows that we enjoyed at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We would be happy to help in providing those details, John D--thank you for your very kind words. We hope you will be visiting again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our experience at the refinery was nothing other than exceptional! The staff was very courteous and professional from the valet to the bartender!
The rooms were very modern and high tech, the mattress was exceptionally comfortable.
The roof top bar was lots of fun with a gorgeous view of the Empire State Building. The ambiance was fun, service was great and the music was perfect; all in all we had a great time and highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
Looking forward to our next stay!

Anthony

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We, too, look forward to your next stay with us and are proud to be called exceptional--thank you for your review, Anthony D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,150 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 469 in New York City
2,926 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,294 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $250 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing