We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refinery Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Americana Inn(New York City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bryant Park Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (4,444)
Filter reviews
4,444 results
Traveler rating
3,287
851
218
59
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,287
851
218
59
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparker quinnbryant parkhat factorythe empire state buildingcupcakesnew yorkmagnolia bakerygreat hotellive jazzhardwood floorsfashion districtboutique hotelhotel gueststimes squaregreat boutiquecomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,696 - 3,701 of 4,444 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is well planned and thought out with ample, comfortable public spaces, nice services like the lobby bar, and an interesting history.The design respects the history and informs as well.
We had room 1001 with a spectacular view of the Empire State Building. The room was spacious, well laid out, and well appointed. Amenities were suitable for the room and the bed very comfortable. The room was quiet, a very much appreciated feature in New York. The Refinery has a roof top bar with fantastic views and perfect drinks. The outside space was good to wander around and take in the different views. Make reservations though, it is very popular and crowded. An excellent choice when in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Room 1001 had a great view of the Empire State Building.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Stater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your review, 50Stater. We hope you will return for a second visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our first time in New York and faced with the huge choice of places to stay then we did turn to Trip Advisor reviews for guidance - The Refinery certainly did live up to expectations!

The hotel is ideally located in the heart of New York and an excellent base for the main tourist attractions.

We stayed in a deluxe double queen (room 308) which was a spacious and quiet room. The beds were unbelievably comfortable. The only downside was that there was insufficient space for our clothes (and we were only staying for 4 days). We also found the inside of the closet to be very dusty and I did have to clean this before putting clothes on the shelves.

The rooftop bar is a real plus for the hotel. I would recommend the installation of heaters in the outdoor area which will enable guests to sit outside and enjoy the city lights.

We do concur with many of the previous reviews, that the staff were extremely courteous and did make our visit to 'The Big Apple' even more special and memorable - thank you.

A very enjoyable stay and I can highly recommend The Refinery Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 308 - no noise issues at all
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evans03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, Evans03. We look forward to your visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A week after returning from an amazing stay at the Refinery Hotel, we booked a second family holiday. Coming from the left coast and flying on the red eye, the Refinery sign high atop the building was a welcoming sight. Jet lagged and hungry, we were informed at check in that our Deluxe Double Queen room would be ready for us shortly. We had a wonderful breakfast at Parker & Quinn and our keys for our room were delivered to our table. The room has two queen beds, a large bathroom and a sitting area with a couch, chair and a coffee table. Plenty of room to move about!

Albert, the Guest Service Manager, greeted us warmly and made sure all our needs were met. We had a late dinner at Parker & Quinn on a Thursday and we were treated to a complimentary sketch as there was an artist on site that evening. I have posted a picture of it with this review. Upon returning to our room the first evening, we found a lovely bottle of wine with a card welcoming us back. Albert also personally escorted us up to the rooftop bar on Friday evening to secure us a table as we were late for our reservation. The man is amazing at his job! I'm sure all guests feel like royalty when interacting with him, we sure did! All the staff remembered us from our prior trip and addresses us by our names. The doormen Matty and Ray would put their lives on the line to hail a cab for you 24/7. They were always happy to help you our with directions too.

I'm happy to say that our second visit was a magical as the first. Looking forward to experiencing the same for our continued visits. See you soon Refinery family!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bustatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

It means a lot to us to be considered a home away from home, Bustatree. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We just came back from 3 days at the Refinery Hotel and loved the experience. Lots of "greats" to boast about, location, building, rooms, staff, rooftop bar, restaurant. We enjoyed everything about the Refinery and our experience there. We'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a king room, instead of a queen. We got a nice view of the Empire State Building. Make sure you visit the rooftop bar.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laikador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We are always proud to be considered perfect, laikador, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before our trip to South Africa. I have to say first of all that New York is extremely expensive in every aspect. For what we paid, I thought it should be more luxurious but having stayed a night at the Hyatt in Grand Central on the way back, I think this hotel was well worth the price. It was very clean and had a really modern decor. I liked the look and feel of it and the staff was incredible. There was a coffee station in the lobby right by the elevator so that was convenient. We had a couple of drinks and snacks on the rooftop bar which was excellent (and yes expensive). There was a singer in the lobby lounge one night which was really nice. The location was excellent, we could walk almost everywhere. There were some good restaurants close by including the one that is attached to the hotel although I don't think it is owned by the hotel. I would stay here again, I wished I would have stayed here on the way back from our trip but that's another review.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeautifulBC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your post, BeautifulBC-7, we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews