We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Experience”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We just came back from 3 days at the Refinery Hotel and loved the experience. Lots of "greats" to boast about, location, building, rooms, staff, rooftop bar, restaurant. We enjoyed everything about the Refinery and our experience there. We'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a king room, instead of a queen. We got a nice view of the Empire State Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laikador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are always proud to be considered perfect, laikador, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,858
    783
    195
    46
    24
See reviews for
943
1,388
153
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before our trip to South Africa. I have to say first of all that New York is extremely expensive in every aspect. For what we paid, I thought it should be more luxurious but having stayed a night at the Hyatt in Grand Central on the way back, I think this hotel was well worth the price. It was very clean and had a really modern decor. I liked the look and feel of it and the staff was incredible. There was a coffee station in the lobby right by the elevator so that was convenient. We had a couple of drinks and snacks on the rooftop bar which was excellent (and yes expensive). There was a singer in the lobby lounge one night which was really nice. The location was excellent, we could walk almost everywhere. There were some good restaurants close by including the one that is attached to the hotel although I don't think it is owned by the hotel. I would stay here again, I wished I would have stayed here on the way back from our trip but that's another review.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulBC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your post, BeautifulBC-7, we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I recently moved away from NYC and returned weeks later to celebrate my 30th birthday. I had my party on the rooftop and decided to also stay at the hotel out of convenience -- and I am SO HAPPY that I did :)

We were welcomed with wine at check in and found a birthday bottle of wine with a kind hand-written note in the room. The room was gorgeously done with rustic touches and a modern elegance. The interior designer is a genius with how to maximize space. I was so thoroughly impressed with my stay (Free Coffee & Tea in the AM) and look forward to the Refinery Hotel being my new home in NYC for weekend trips :)

The location is perfectly located in the heart of town near several subway stops without being too touristy (far away enough from Times Square).

The rooftop is divine, don't miss out on this gem during your stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkf114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed an excellent stay with us, kkf114--we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Overall our stay was very good. Initially, we had a slow start as we were unable to have our room until 2pm despite arriving shortly after 9am. However the room or should I say suite (Atelier) was excellent. Excellent service too from management resolving these minor teething issues. Can't beat the location and size of room given location. Good value will stay again when next in New York.

Room Tip: Atelier suite at rear are quiet and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We look forward to your next stay with us, Analyste, and thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel gives the impression of a luxury boutique hotel, but to be honest I don't think I would stay here again. Check in went fine, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We were given a room facing the street. I did not sleep a wink the first night. It is incredibly loud. I simply can't give high marks to a hotel in which I cannot obtain a good night's sleep. I took a sleep aid the next night. The sheets were rather rough, and the towels were very scratchy and hard (not luxurious). The television set was hung improperly and was crooked on the wall. The rooftop bar is nice with incredible views. All in all, I would go someplace else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgeek163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, travelgeek163, and will be reviewing the details you have provided as we continue to improve. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great new hotel located in a former millinery and conveniently placed in the heart of the Garment district. The friendliest and most helpful staff ever found (thank you Basha!). Lovely decor and superb roof-top bar and terrace with close views of the Empire State Building and of the Bank of America Tower (Martini was perfect). Ideal for both families and young travellers (European holiday makers will simply love it). Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavideSagliocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
The superlatives are much appreciated, DavideSagliocca. Thank you for taking the time to post-- we hope to welcome you back to Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This a great and comfortable place to stay in the city. Its in the heart of midtown with main attractions in NYC only steps away. Great view of the Empire State Building on their rooftop which is also a bar and restaurant. Went here with a group of friends and we had a great time the whole weekend. It could be pricey if you are on a budget but its a worth experience. Its classy, chic, cool and clean!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiev16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, Jiev16. We look forward to your visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing