We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a New York trip”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great location for a New York trip”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We chose the Refinery Hotel on location alone, and spent five great days in New York walking just about everywhere. The street is fairly quiet for Manhattan, and our room at the back was very serene. We liked the cleanliness, small but well-equipped bathroom (we had a full tub), and clever design touches. Front desk staff were very helpful with restaurant reservations, taxis, and a wonderful welcoming glass of wine while we checked in!
The bar scene on the roof is strange - on weekend evenings, the elevator door is manned by a fellow whose role was not made clear...but we chose to go elsewhere for a drink. We did go up on our last night (a Sunday, so it was nice and quiet) and enjoyed the outdoor seating area and view of the Empire State Building as we drank a glass of wine (not cheap!)
The restaurant Parker & Quinn was fine for breakfast (again, not cheap), but too dark and loud to enjoy a nice dinner. And there is free coffee in the lobby in the morning as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for posting, SophiagoestoItaly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,858
    783
    195
    46
    24
See reviews for
943
1,388
153
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 days with my wife part business part pleasure. The hotel is well designed and feels it even the staff who are friendly helpful and welcoming.

The rooms are comfortable and not too noisy at least at the back.

The rooftop bar is a must visit great atmosphere and on its terrace stunning views of the Empire State Building.

Only small let down was that $40 of room service was delivered takeaway style in a paper bag of separate plastic boxes with no plate to eat off, a case of style over substance?

Otherwise an excellent hotel for business or pleasure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us, Andrew B--thank you for your post and photo. We look forward to your staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Came here for the first time after being fed up with the corporate rate hotel where I usually (have to) stay: NY Palace, Waldorf, Omni. Great overall experience. From reception to the room itself, everything was very well thought out and designed. Although not quite up to par with hotels like Gramercy Park and Bowery, there are a lot of similarities, but the rates are much friendlier at the Refinery.

Room Tip: Although I didn't experience this myself, but one of my colleagues had some inconvenience from c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skydam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, skydam, we hope you will be staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Very good situated, near Times Square, nice atmosphere, large room, 40 square meters is really big for NYC hotels, very clean, friendly staff. The only comlain: The room maid does not appear if you do not tell the concierge that you want to have your room done.. But that is not important. The rest is absolute fine.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit, Marita B. Thank you for your review. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great boutique hotel. Tons of character. Spotless. Genuinely friendly staff. Great location. Bed was so comfortable my cell phone alarm woke me out of a sound sleep at 8:45 am. That NEVER happens. Ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, Parker & Quinn. Food and service were outstanding. I would definitely eat here again on a day trip even if I wasn't staying overnight. Rooftop bar has upscale feel, yet still cozy. Unbelievable view of Empire State Building. This is the place to be in NYC.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Matthaeus, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Your recommendation is greatly valued, Jo F--thank you for posting, we hope you will be staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just got back from a short stay in New York City, and I can sum up my stay at the Refinery Hotel in one word "WOW"! The location was great we walked to every were we wanted to go. Bryant Park is just a block or two away from the hotel, and the views of the Empire State Building from the rooftop bar are phenomenal. (The other two bars in the hotel are really nice too but they don't have the view the rooftop bar does) What really sets this hotel apart from the rest is service! It started at check in when they handed me a lovely glass of wine, and continued throughout my stay. There was even a hand written note in my room welcoming me to the hotel. My room had a really cool and retro plank floor. There was a night light setting in the bathroom which made waking up in a strange place not so freaky. So many times hotels seem "cookie cutter" the Refinery broke the mold and set itself apart from the pack! If I have one hesitation about submitting this review is that next time I am in New York I won't be able to get a room for myself but this hotel is to special to be kept to myself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post, AKcruiseholidays. Your enthusiasm means a lot to us here at Refinery Hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I suppose the best place to start with this Hotel is the location. If you want to be right in the middle of NYC 38th and 6th is probably as close as you will get. An unassuming entrance ( Not a negative) hides a clean hallway with a pleasant hotel bar on the right leading to reception. The staff were extremely friendly even though we arrived on a busy Saturday night. We were quickly told about the amenities in the Hotel and given our room key. The room on the 11th floor was big for NYC spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom-well stocked and Wifi throughout the building.
We wanted to get moving but when we got out of the elevator downstairs the guy showing people to the other elevator for the rooftop terrace bar was so friendly we said why not after the long flight just relax with a drink, we were taken aback by the bar, the view of the Empire State Building 3 blocks away was breathtaking and as with downstairs the service was fantastic. The three nights and four days we spent here as a couple really were fantastic.
While probably not a family hotel ( I didn't enquire) it is a great Hotel for couples or adult groups.
I will without hesitation refer this Hotel to anyone that wants to visit New York and challenge them to prove my review wrong.

Room Tip: I gave the sleep quality a 4 not a 5 because it was NYC and unless you are in an underground bunker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobRyanincannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
RobRyanincannes, thank you for your kind words and review. We are so glad that you found us and hope you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing