We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refinery Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$187
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$241
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$365
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$386
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$324
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,500)
Filter reviews
4,500 results
Traveler rating
3,326
862
220
62
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,326
862
220
62
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparker quinnbryant parkhat factorythe empire state buildingcupcakesnew yorkmagnolia bakerygreat hotellive jazzhardwood floorsfashion districtboutique hotelhotel gueststimes squaregreat boutiquecomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
3,866 - 3,871 of 4,500 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was my first visit to NY and I was lucky I had stayed in Refinery hotel.The hotel is perfectly designed to every detailed.The room are very comfortable and clean,the bathroom is also very clean.The staff at hotel is very friendly and very kind and helpful.View from my room was on Empire State Building,amazing!The hotel is in a great location.I recommend Refinery hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slavica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We strive for perfection every day, Slavica D, and thank you for your review. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good job! We loved the Refinery. It is central, price/quality is good, but the attention to detail and service are very good. The hotel is perfectly designed to every detailed. It is lightly theamed, which makes you understand what is behind the design. Service is very good. People are super friendly, rooms are impecable, room service and food at the restaurant are both delicious. The bar at the lobby is really nice for a quick drink or a long stay. The roof top bar is superb.
Rooms can be slightly on the small side, but this is midtown NYC. If you re ok with the area, I would definitly recomend it.

Room Tip: Choose front rooms and high floors.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMOPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Your recommendation is much appreciated, AMOPeru. Thank you for posting, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my second time visiting the hotel and it was even better than my first time. The location is great, and it is right around the corner from Bryant Park which is the perfect place to stop for a drink at the end of a day. The staff at the hotel really make it something special. Ask for Matthew when you get there and then have Renita or Albert help you with your arrangements. Then go up to a great room which is really much larger than what you expect in the city. Finally enjoy yourself when you are escorted up to the rooftop bar which is one of the most spectacular views of the Empire State Building you can imagine. The hotel is great, but it is really the friendliness of the staff which makes it such an enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We are always proud to be considered the best, Ron74--thank you, again, for your review. We will be looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Overall a good stay! Check-in and check-out were easy and employees friendly. The hotel and room is well-decorated in something that vaguely resembles 1930s NYC. The room was comfortable and had everything I needed. (Good shades, sheets, a safe, plenty of outlets.) Free, open wifi. Hotel was cool without trying too hard. Roof bar was a neat atmosphere, but the crowd in both bars is probably late 30s-early 50s.

My room was a little noisy, but not too bad for a hotel in a busy area. The doormen were always chatting to each other and not opening the door. At least they weren’t ripping off tourists with overpriced car services like you see at the bigger hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms facing either street will have some truck noise at night. Not too bad for NYC.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Glad that you enjoyed your overall experience, AndyMell. Thank you for your post. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were impressed with the hotel and staff from start to finish. Beautifully modern vibe - loved the wood floors in the rooms with the high ceilings. Very clean. Rooftop bar was so cool! Definitely would come back here to stay! Great getaway for couples!

Room Tip: Stay away from the delivery side of the hotel - noisy in the morning.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review, ijs2010--we look forward to your return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews