We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, only let down by a few minor irritants”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent a week here in mid-September. My partner and I had been a planning an NY trip for ages, and The Refinery was a spur of the moment booking thanks to some pretty reasonable rates and generally positive reviews on here.
The location can't be faulted - just off 6th Avenue at 38th Street, with most major attractions all within a short walk, and the subway at 42nd Street/Bryant Park handily about 2 minutes away. We took the train to Penn Station from Newark and with bags fought through the evening rush hour on foot which wasn't all that pleasant! Our welcome was by friendly, if somewhat robotic, reception staff, and there didn't seem to be any forthcoming offer of having our bags taken up to the room for us, but this wasn't a big deal. The doormen were always friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
The room itself (the standard Queen room) was lovely - extremely comfy bed, gorgeous big bathroom/huge shower and of course the obligatory widescreen. Size-wise, a very decent square footage for NY, but a distinct lack of hanging/drawer space but we managed! Our safe was broken, and following a call to reception a new one was duly delivered and installed by some extremely chirpy staff with no fuss at all. It was always spotlessly clean and the maids do a sterling job.
The reason we'd come to New York (it turns out) was for my other half to propose to me, so there had actually been some email traffic going between them unbeknown to me! On reflection, the hotel didn't exactly exude the 'can-do' attitude you'd expect from a 5* property - nothing major but enough to notice...some confusion over whether we could get candles (you can't, it's an NYFD rule); point blank refusal to chill our champagne we'd brought (you had to buy their champagne); no follow up on the outcome of the proposal (but I suppose some would find that an intrusion). All understandable, and certainly nothing more than minor gripes.
We only visited the roof terrace a few times, and experienced similar issues to other guests which were all really to do with their staff (e.g. being met by a steely glare for daring to ask for my change). But it's a lovely spot and the views of the Empire State Building, especially at night, are worth the effort.
The onsite restaurant, Parker and Quinn, is extremely good and serves up slightly less than reasonably priced fare (although it is worth checking whether your rate includes breakfast or not).
Overall, this hotel is lovely, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay in it again. But it needs to make sure it doesn't completely out-cool itself at the expense of doing the basics properly - exceptional customer service has to be more than a plastic smile...and it's the truly personal touch that would take this hotel from very good to stratospheric.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BA279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your post, BA279--and congratulations! We will look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,097)
There are newer reviews for Refinery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,511 - 3,517 of 4,097 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for two nights in August 2013 to celebrate her birthday. We stayed in a studio room with two queen beds. The hotel is very nicely decorated - it is not decorated in the typical generic style of many chain hotels. My mom is an artist and she really appreciated the attention to detail in the design. When you enter the room, you have a variety of lighting options. The writing desk is very unique and has a little tray with full-size liquor bottles. They had glass cups rather than plastic. The beds were very comfortable and so were the bathrobes. On the first night, I had made a reservation at the rooftop terrace, but it was closed at the last minute, because a street festival had caused a disruption to business. We were a bit disappointed because we had seen the reviews and pictures of the rooftop and it was a selling point for us. However, when we came back that afternoon, they had placed a bottle of wine in our room, along with an apology note, and they had also turned on some jazz music. We really appreciated this gesture - and my mom was delighted. Also, I was not familiar with the garment district and was somewhat apprehensive about the location, but it turned out to be convenient to everything. Although we had breakfast there one day and it was very good, it was expensive, so the next morning we ate at Pret a Manger which is right next door - it is cheap, healthy, and great for people watching. Overall, a great place to stay for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaLisa354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us, Lisa E. Thank you for your review, we hope you both will be returning to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at the Refinery with my daughters for 2 nights. Have been to NY several time and this is by far my favorite hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable; the staff is amazing from the minute we arrived until it was time to go. We ate dinner at the restaurant; again great staff that made us very comfortable and the food was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel. Thanks to everyone at the Refinery for making us feel so welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou67-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We are always proud to be considered a favorite, lou67-7, and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 4 nights 8/29-9/2. Our room was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable. The staff was attentive and helpful. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere because it was so convenient, but when we needed a cab, the doorman had it for us within seconds. The rooftop bar has a spectacular view and we had wonderful service and a great flat bread pizza during our visit there. The food and service in the restaurant was also excellent. Also loved the coffee bar in the lobby in the mornings. Thank you to everyone at the Refinery Hotel for a wonderful stay. This is our 6th year coming to NYC for The US Open and The Refinery Hotel really contributed to the wonderful time that we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Your enthusiastic review is much appreciated, Stacey P--thank you for posting. We hope you will make a return trip soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our family stayed at the Refinery Hotel for 4 nights. Our room was most pleasant, well decorated and very clean! Beds were very comfortable. Most importantly, the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, courteous and client focussed. If you want to see the lovely NY skyline at night, a visit to the hotel rooftop indoor/outdoor bar is worth the visit. Hotel is situated within walking distance from all of the main attractions (shopping, Broadway, Times Square, etc.). We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants high-end accommodation with trendy design and architecture. Thank you to the Refinery Hotel staff for making our visit to NYC one of the best yet!

Room Tip: We reserved a studio with two queen beds for 3 adults. Very comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LST_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed our staff's friendly nature and look forward to your next stay with us, LST_9. Thank you for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are a group of 4 women who stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel has a hip vibe as others have stated. The lobby is small and not grand like some of the hotels but then again we were not there for the lobby. We had a deluxe room with 2 queen beds and it was very clean. The room is a very good size compared to NY city hotels that are usually on the small side. The bathroom was quite large with a very large walk in shower. The cleaning staff did an excellent job. We were on the 6th floor and found it was noisy as we could hear the outdoor noises.

We did not go to the hotel restaurant but did go to the rooftop and it had good ambiance and a great view.

The front desk staff and staff around the lobby were very polite. This hotel has a good location as we could walk to Times Square. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andriana42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We look forward to your return andriana42--thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed early Sept 2013 for 3 nights. Great stay, it was our first trip to Manhattan and I woukd ave to say that the Refinery Hotel is position close to all attractions in mid town. Walk to Central Station, Empire States, Times Square, Central Park and so much more. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed on 7th floor internal King, very nice and quiet. Elevators no problems at all. We had the breakfast package, food good but limited fare. I would skip the package as their are some many good places to eat nearby. Shower mixer tap was hard to set right and water backed up a bit in the shower! Ice machine broken on our floor. Very minor problems and all in all a great place to stay, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher levels and internal facing rooms are quiet. View from street windows nothing exciting so you...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, Dave M. We look forward to your visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,021 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,809 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 468 in New York City
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $291 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing