We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chic Boutique NY Hotel”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #27 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Chic Boutique NY Hotel”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the moment you arrive you are greeted with smiles, helpfulness and a welcome attitude from all staff members. we stayed here for a week in a King Suite Room.
Spacious , clean and functional. The Rooftop Bar is great and we especially enjoyed dinner up there on Sunday night ....it was very quiet and able to get a great table with great view of Empire State and enjoy the lovely surroundings.
The Clam Chowder at the hotel restaurant was excellent ....
The bar /lounge is comfortable and nicely decorated ...one night they had a great singer performing.
there is a laundry just up the road who will do washing same day service ....excellent . It was $1.50 per pound ...great service.
We really enjoyed our time at this hotel , restaurants and rooftop bar

Room Tip: If you are at the back of the hotel ..there will be no noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmc208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
fmc208--thank you for your genuine and thoughtful post. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,917
    798
    197
    47
    25
See reviews for
961
1,416
156
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Beach, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at the Refinery just this week, and it was a great experience. Rooms are amazing, hotel service cannot be matched. The rooftop bar is amazing, as is the restaurant and lobby bar. Had a tiny mishap one morning that the hotel had a hot water issue, not only did they quickly get the issue fixed, but I came back to my room that evening to a letter from the GM apologizing for the inconvenience and some amazing local cupcakes as a gift. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are proud to have your recommendation, Maggie M and hope you will be staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Good.
Great start with a warm welcome from the door team. The front desk had me registered quickly and it was then up to the Atelier Suite. Great room in terms of size and facilities, but no great view! Everything in the room worked, the bed was very comfortable and the shower room first class. Location of the Hotel is good, all sights are well within walking distance.

The Bad.
Breakfast in the Hotel is selected from an a la carte menu. This means that the cost quickly mounts up and you end up paying 35$ for a cooked breakfast, juice and coffee.
The insulation between floors is non-existent. If your neighbours upstairs are quiet you will sleep, if not you will be wakened. Most nights of my stay were OK. But on several nights I was woken up in the early morning, (1 am, 2 am & 3am), by the noise of shoes clattering about, doors slamming and baggage being dropped, for a long time. If you can't get a good night's sleep then you are wrecked for the next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d20Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your post, d20Sam, and for acknowledging our staff’s warm welcome. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your most recent stay and that it was not up to our standard of comfort, but hope that you will return for a second visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed for 5 days in August. Fantastic location, walking distance to subway, Grand Central, Bryant Park, Times Square etc...

Stayed in a King room, amazing bed, very comfortable. Room was much larger than expected after hearing horror stories about size of NY hotel rooms, blackout blinds, AC, large TV, ipad / iphone charger, tall ceilings and enough room to walk around the bed. Room was also very quiet for the location - we stayed in 610 which was at the back of the hotel and although it had no view it meant that we also got very little street noise. Excellent customer service and very helpful front desk / door staff. Lobby - Free wine in the evening and free coffee in the morning was a nice touch.

2 things need to be changed to make it an amazing hotel (but not enough of an issue for it not to be classed as 5 * in my opinion):
1. Bathroom Door - as previously mentioned they are slightly see through. However our bathroom door didn't close properly, there is no door handle / lock so when pushed closed the door opened again slightly. This could be easily fixed. The bathroom however (excluding door) is great.
2. Rooftop bar - awesome views and seating with nice atmosphere. Opened at 4/5pm. It would be great though if they could open the bar for hotel residents use for an hour or two a day when it isn't open to the general public (morning / early afternoon). It would a great additional service for hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are glad to have exceeded your expectations, love4321, and will be sure to take your comments into consideration as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at the refinery 8/24-8/27/2013. Checked in Saturday, early-thank you, and later ended up at the rooftop bar. Great place, beautiful view and surroundings. Wish we could have gone back. After a long day on Sunday we planned on eating back at the hotel but when we returned at 8pm Parker & Quinn was closed and the rooftop had small plates, which wasn't what we had in mind. The lobby bar was also closed. (The in-room newspaper says both the restaurant and lobby bar are open daily). Eventually we ordered room service,which came from Parker & Quinn, expensive and came with one set of plastic silverware for two of us. (That didn't fit with the rest of the hotel).
Monday was our last night there and the rooftop was closed for maintenance??? After dinner at Parker and Quinn, we had to get to our 9th floor room as the elevators were shutting down for repairs. Tuesday morning the hot water was out for a bit. It was fixed fairly quickly but there still seems to be lots of problem with the day to day workings.
We were grateful for the late check out on Tuesday.
Love the room, the lobby and the location. I'm very hopeful that next visit will have everything running smoothly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so glad that we could accommodate your early check in and that despite some hiccups you enjoyed your visit, Nancy J--we look forward to your next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I travel to the city several times a year on business, and often find my hotel experiences less than desirable. I stayed at the Refinery for a week in July, and was beyond pleased. The staff, was amazing the room was quite large and very comfortable. Parker & Quinn is delicious! I'll absolutely stay again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We hope you will be making your next visit soon, Tiffany B! Thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Refinery Hotel is a very clean, welcoming boutique style hotel situated in an ideal position for sight seeing as you can walk to many of NYC attractions. We walked to Times Square many times during our stay. Central Park is also within walking distance. The outside of the building is not much to look at, however inside is excellent. All of the staff are extremely pleasant and polite and are happy to serve you. Our room was a deluxe queen double on the 10th floor. The room was very spacious and had that 'boutique' feel although didn't have a 'view'. The bathroom was very clean and had an excellent sized shower. The mini bar prices are very expensive so we didn't indulge too much when in the room. We had drinks in Winnie's lounge bar in the lobby but unfortunately the prices are high e.g. $24 for a (small) glass of Chardonnay (yes a GLASS....not a bottle). The Irish bar across the road offers very cheap drink prices. We tried to go up to the rooftop bar on my wife's birthday. Unfortunately because under 21's are not allowed up there, we could not take our 13 year old son with us for a drink to celebrate. Is it not possible to allow children (who happen to be hotel residents) up to the bar until a certain time (say around 7pm)? The bouncer who stands outside the lift to go up to the rooftop said we had to have our hand stamped before we could even get in the lift.....so we had to actually go out of the hotel's front door then have a stamp imprinted on our hands and then go back into the hotel - this is ridiculous for residents!!!
We went along to The View lounge bar at the top of the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square. They welcome children here before 8pm so we stayed for over 2 hours up there enjoying the view and spent quite a lot of money......your loss Refinery Rooftop!!!!
Overall we would definitely stay at the Refinery again and would be happy to recommend it to others but would not attempt the Rooftop bar again.....it's too much hassle just to get a drink. Our review would have been 5 star but unfortunately it's let down by the Rooftop Bar hassle.
We would like to thank the hotel for leaving a bottle of wine and cakes to help celebrate my wife's birthday, this was much appreciated and was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBSPROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and guestrooms, ROBSPROS, as well as your recommendation. We greatly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 466 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,592 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 466 in New York City
1,966 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing