We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Stay”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this property as it just opened. I must say it was a very good stay and the service was very good too. The location is deal as its between downtown and midtown, making everything walking distance. I will definitely stay here again. However, as a SLH Club Member I didn’t receive or was informed of my amenities (such as upgrade and breakfast). This was a major let down; I will give this hotel another try next time and see if they will do the same mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
AFA86, glad you enjoyed your stay and our services—we greatly anticipate your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,858
    783
    195
    46
    24
See reviews for
943
1,388
153
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Refinery hotel provided the perfect accommodations for our NYC trip. It is well located with an easy walk to Broadway, Times Square and shops. The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered; they are very well trained. The rooms were spacious for New York, especially the suite. They were clean,quiet and and well appointed with all the amenities. I would definitely stay again should we return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for your review, etnmom. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location, staff, rooms. Worth the 7 hour flight from London for the weekend. Only gripe would be small double beds and overpriced drinks at the bar although beautifully mixed. Didn't need o eat here too much choice in this city do cant comment on restaurant quality. Overall I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
And we can't wait for your next visit! Glad you had a pleasant stay, Tallishgirl, thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satanta, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed one night at The Refinery and loved it. When we originally checked in, we were helped to our room by the bellhop and after seeing the construction going on outside our window he suggested requesting a different room, which he assisted us in getting. We were upgraded to the 11th floor with a larger room and better view. The room was awesome. We loved the unique "throwback" to the hat factory that this hotel used to be. We loved the chic decor and the huge shower. We ate at the hotel restaurant, "Parker and Quinn" and were delightfully surprised by the tasty meal and fabulous drinks. We visited the rooftop bar after dinner and the view of the empire state building is breathtaking. We don't usually spend this kind of money on a hotel, but because this is a newly opened hotel, we got a great rate for downtown NYC and we really felt it was well worth the splurge. The staff was very friendly, and overall we had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellastoneylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, ellastoneylane! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can not say enough good things about this hotel! From my booking experience through to our stay, everything was excellent! I had questions before I booked the hotel, as it was new, which were addressed in a helpful friendly manner.
Upon arrival we were checked in fast then shown both to and around our room by a friendly member of staff. The high floor gave us a good view and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was very clean and the bathroom was well thought our to make the most of the space. Soft robes greeted you after you stepped out of the well pressured shower. The rooms have tall ceilings so they feel very spacious and airy. The decor is stylish, clean and is a fusion of modern with a nod to its former life, an old milliners, with the Singer writing desk and cast iron features in the bathroom.
For being a tall hotel, the lifts were fast. Outside the lifts on each floor were two seats with an old style phone in the table- very cute and kitsch.
The public areas of the hotel are first class too- the bar as you walk in was a nod to the 1920's glamour era and was always popular. The restaurant served an excellent breakfast and had a wide range of choices available. The lobby area is again modern and airy. With staff always around to say hi and help out. I asked if they could recommend anywhere for brunch one morning and we were given a couple of excellent options.
The location of this hotel is great, Right in the heart of the Garment District, it is just around the corner from the New York Library and Bryant Park, close to several subway stops with views of the Empire State Building from the rooftop bar.

We will definitely be back to this hotel as the experience we had was second to none.
The best hotel we have ever stayed in! The standard is now set, well done Refinery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilly_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
It is always wonderful to be called the best--thank you for your post, lilly_424. Glad you enjoyed your entire experience with the Refinery team. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Way to much good to report here. wonderful staff. I have stayed at the newest boutique hotels in nyc every summer for the past seven years, and this is the only one to which I would give five stars. Chirsh was right..there are design flaws with the closets and bathrooms. And the noise in rooms with windows facing the empire state building is not for the meek. The view from the front door not as nice as the Andaz or the Giraffe... but for the price, an unbelieveable experience. Furnishings are amazing. Art gallery throughout the hotel, Coffee in the lobby every morning. Wine reception in the lobby at 5pm, Perfect gym. Housekeeping strives to please..if not a bit overzealous. too much too wonderful to say, here...

Room Tip: Staff is very receptive to children. but no activities, of course. it's ny! close to nypl
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Katdog2--we are so proud that you would consider your visit a perfect stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't seem to understand that a Queen bed is 60" x 80".
In their literature and on their website, they promise rooms with two Queen beds, that are in fact, only double beds.
When this was broached with management, they said they would change the descriptions of their rooms to accurately reflect the true size.
Since it's a new hotel, I gave them a month to follow through, but they haven't and I don't want other travellers to make the mistake we did by booking this hotel.
Two out of the three managers we had to deal with were pleasant and reasonable, they apologized for the error and gave us a discount on the room, the other one, however, was ridiculous, rude, abrasive, and ignorant, insisting that hotels have the right to call beds whatever size they choose and that there isn't a North American standard for beds (there is).
Otherwise, this hotel has potential. The location is excellent, but the rooms have serious design flaws. Bathrooms with translucent doors; little space to open a bag; no hooks or shelves in the bathroom; poorly designed closet space; and a ludicrous amount of available space devoted to full size bottles of alcohol, busy gathering dust.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I apologize for any abrasiveness you may have experienced in your encounters with our management team, chirsh, and thank you for your feedback. Your concern regarding our bed sizes is understandable and we are sorry for any confusion, but are so happy that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing