We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NYC Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My daughters and I stayed at the Refinery Hotel on July 28, 2013 and loved it. We arrived before check-in so we were able to keep our bags at the hotel while we went sightseeing. Upon our arrival back to the hotel later that night we were upgraded to a Queen suite with no charge. The room was beautiful. Being it was my daughters first trip to NYC we had a view of the Empire State Building, which was worth its weight in gold. The staff were wonderful individuals who went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. The next morning when we checked out the bellman hauled a cab for us, which was no small task. The beds were comfortable and the walk-in shower was heavenly. I can't even tell you how wonderful it was to feel safe and secure in a hotel with two teenage daughters experiencing NYC for the first time. I would recommend the Refinery Hotel to everyone and anyone. Thank you for making my trip memorable.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor facing the Empire State Building and it was wonderful. The view was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and view of the Empire State Building. Thank you for your post, Cindy T, we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,826
    776
    194
    45
    22
See reviews for
931
1,377
152
700
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Firstly, I must say that we got a very good deal on a one-night stay and paid significantly less than the standard price. If we had paid the standard price, it would still have been a wonderful experience but nowhere near as good value.

You can get a good sense of the chic and hip style of the place from their website, and it is indeed a very cool place. All hotel services were fully operational by the time of our stay. The rooftop bar is stunning but you can only access it from a specific elevator from the lobby and we had to queue even at 5pm. Further, the whole thing had been reserved for a private function from 6pm and everyone had to clear out by then. This was slightly disappointing and not particularly fair - surely hotel guests should have full access to the facilities they've chosen the hotel for and paid for?

The fitness centre has good quality equipment and is quite pleasant but is very small (literally the size of one of the bedrooms) and has only one weights machine.

My only other quibble would be that the ceiling in our bathroom had not been painted and the mini-bar had a slow leak - there are probably a few finishing touches that still need to be made. I suppose that's why they are offering introductory offers.

The service was fantastic - the staff friendly and accommodating. We were upgraded from a queen to king on arrival and only had to wait a few minutes to be able to get into our room 2 hours before
check-in time (at no extra cost).

Aesthetically, it's a beautiful hotel and the service is first-rate. The rooms are small (no surprise in NYC) but the beds super comfy! It's clearly aspirational.

We would look to stay again but only if we could get a good deal on the price.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajs587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our staff and service, Ajs587. We are taking your comments into account and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Othe rthan our rooftop bar experience the Hotel and staff gets 5+ stars. The hotel is new and in vbery good condition. While some of the floors are still being worked on and the fact that we did not have any ice, our overall experience was very good. The rooftop bar scene is still trying to create an image ( an unfavorable one in my account) dont go up unless you want to be looked up and down and judged of you worthiness to enter

Room Tip: Get the King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddielightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
While we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your rooftop experience, Eddielightning, we are thrilled that you would give our Hotel staff 5-stars and look forward to your visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

A friend told me about Refinery which is very close to my office. I stayed there one night. What an experience! The service, decor, and lofty rooms are unbeatable.
The dinner at Parker & Quinn was great. There isn't any cool formal spot in the area for lunch or dinner so it's nice to have that. Definitely going again when I need to sleep in - Sam G

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGindi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
So glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, SGindi82—we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Refinery Hotel. The front desk and door staff were all very friendly and pleasant.

However, we did not give the Refinery a "5 - excellent" rating because of the following reasons;

1 - Stains were found on the bed sheet and towel . It was very apparent and in our my opinion, the housekeeper should not have use them.

2 - Bathroom sink and taps were not cleaned on daily basis. We were booked in for 7 nights and felt that only water was mopped up around the sink and floor. Toiletries were not replenished, which is a minor detail, but important enough if they want to provide excellent service.

3 - No facility for hanging up clothes, this was a bit annoying. No where to hang up a jacket or dress.

4 - At check-out, we were informed that a bottle of whisky was consumed/taken by us. As we don't drink alcohol, we were a bit surprised to say the least. We explained this to the staff and she kindly removed the charges, without much of a fuss. However, we believe this does not leave a good impression with any guests (at least not with me). There are too many staff that have access to the room and could potentially have taken anything with them whenever the opportunity arise. Maybe, the hotel needs to think of a way to protect the guests by storing it away in a cupboard, which can only be opened by the electronic key, this will then be electronically registered.

5 - In the evenings, around 8pm - 9.30pm, "room service" will be knocking on the door. Initially, we weren't aware what it was for, but realised later, after speaking to the Hotel Front Desk that the this service was provided to replace towels, clean the bins, etc . In our opinion, the Hotel Front desk should have informed us about this service whilst we checked-in.

I might not want to return to this hotel when they start charging the full price and will not recommend for staying more than 3/4 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimmoYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your post, KimmoYu. We appreciate any and all feedback and will be reviewing your comments with our entire team as we continue to grow and improve. We hope that you will choose to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were treated as though we were their only guests. Everyone is
warm and helpful, going out of their way to make you comfortable. The room was small but very well decorated and the bed was sooo comfortable. The bathroom has a wonderful walk-in
shower. It feels like a home away from home!
We hope we can come back very soon.
sandyL

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy72013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are proud to be considered the best, sandy72013—thank you for your review. We can’t wait for your to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

2 adults and our 2 children stayed 5 nights in a "Deluxe Double Queen". We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that. I won't tell you about things that were satisfactory, because you would expect them to be. There was a personalized welcome card leaning on a bottle of house red wine awaiting us, although we had to call the front desk to determine that the wine was complimentary (and not something that would appear on the bill if we opened it). It was pretty rough merlot, but it was a nice thought. Overall the staff were cheerful and helpful. So the issues were:

- fancy brass shower faucet was very stiff, requiring 2 adult hands to turn it. That may be unique to our room, but they were not able to fix it while we were there.

- The storage in the room was grossly inadequate for a room that could accommodate 4 people. There were only two small drawers in the room, and a couple of even smaller drawers standing in the cupboard. The latter also filled some of the limited hanging space. So we lived out of suitcases on the floor. This could be rectified by installing more and taller drawers in the bedroom and scrapping the one in the cupboard.

- in the newspaper-style hotel guide, there are outrageous phone call charges: interstate calls are $5 for the 1st minute plus $2 per additional minute; international calls are $15 for the 1st minute plus $5 per minute. This is probably more than a 99% profit margin, given that you can make Skype-out calls for 2.3 cents per minute. One night I was on my iPad on the hotel Wi-Fi doing nothing but making a Skype voice call when the call dropped and a message from the internet service provider popped up in the browser telling me that I had been blocked due to "Suspected Malicious Activity". When we checked out, we spotted a $11.50 charge for a phone call to an unspecified number. I pointed out that we had called the deli across the street (a different area code, 212 rather than the 646 of the hotel, but this was not an interstate call) on our first night (we arrived very late and needed food). The front desk did not hesitate to remove the call charge, but we wonder how many people get caught out by this "gotcha".

- A similar issue with the minibar: it has a sensor in it which detects movement, and the cleaning staff are over-reliant on that rather than checking what has gone from the inventory (how long would this really take?). We never use the content of minibars, but on check-out spotted a $9.50 charge on the bill for an unspecified item, which was removed without hesitation. What we actually did was move some non-perishable items to the countertop to create room to store milk for our kids. We had told them about this earlier in the stay, and they advised us not to use the minibar because it was "not cold enough", and provided a free loan of a small fridge for the milk, after which we moved the items back to the minibar from the countertop. So if you open the minibar door, or move anything inside it, then watch out on your bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the mistaken charges and thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, David W. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing