We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Refinery Hotel is an absolute gem with an exceptionally helpful and courteous staff. They graciously met our every need. The room decor is warm and relaxing. The location is a convenient walk to Times Square, yet far enough removed to provide a peaceful respite. We visited the hotel restaurant on the evening of our arrival. The food and service were impeccable. In fact, we enjoyed it so much that we dined there a second time prior to our departure. The hotel is currently transitioning through their soft opening. The roof top bar is a delightful addition to the Refinery experience. I anticipate there are more enhancements to come and will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for posting, Gayle593 and for noting our staff’s exceptional and courteous service. We’re so happy that Parker & Quinn so impressed you that you made a return visit—we, too, look forward to your return trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,789 - 3,795 of 4,150 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at Refinery hotel for two nights, in the City for my brother's wedding. The rooms are incredibly well-appointed, from nifty light-switches to lovely bathroom tile, high ceilings, and beautiful furniture. I stayed in a studio king, which met my needs perfectly. My parents had a larger room, with two beds and more space than my San Francisco apartment! The staff were incredibly attentive and snazzy in their suspenders; the elevators have cool analog-retro floor indicators. I snuck a peek at the roof deck bar while the finishing touches were being completed (supposed to open soon)--I'm so jealous that I missed being able have a drink and look out at a great view the city up 38th and over at the MetLife. I had a drink at the associated first floor restaurant--good beer selection; bartender needs a bit of polishing though. The gym had dumbells, treadmills, ellipticals, and one of those combo machines with a cheese-grater pull-up bar. Air-conditioned well, water available, and giant flatscreen TV.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, Ellen K. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our uniforms--we are certainly proud of our unique style by G-Star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was a delight to stay at the Refinery Hotel. A boutique hotel which it's design and concept create a wonderful experience for the guests. Huge rooms , modern but yet very warm and welcoming. Great location near Bryant park. I will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sberlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, sberlo, and thank you for noticing the details of our design. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at the Refinery for one night with my girlfriend at the end of a week's holiday in the US before returning to the UK. The hustle and bustle of the city is easily forgotten as you step into this quiet, stylish and comfortable hotel - a real tonic from the occasional madness of NYC. The customer service is excellent; every member of staff was polite, friendly and chatty - a note of praise must go to the reception and door staff who really tried their best to fit in any requests we had. We were upgraded to a Studio King - a super stylish room that cannot be faulted; a huge bed (fantastic night's sleep) and a large bathroom with a powerful watering can shower... The addition of 'Le Labo' toiletries was a revelation (thank God you can buy them in London!). Cannot wait to return.

Worthy of inclusion in HIP hotels and Mr. & Mrs. Smith guides.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bachtothefuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your post, E S, so glad you could enjoy our serene setting and Le Labo toiletries! Cannot wait to have you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was very pleasant stay in the hotel all the four days we stayed. Oh yes, the Doormen, reception staff and the bar manager, they were all there for you to make you feel very comfortable.
The finishes and the decore were all done tastefully. Excellent location. You can just walk to Broadway Theatres or Time Square.
Thanks to all those working there with their smiling faces, you are all great asset to the Hotel.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to enjoy NYC. Didn't used the swimming pool and fitness services so can't comment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maninder P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your post Maninder P! Your recommendation and kind words are so important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just came back from a trip at the hotel. The rooms are great, very well appointed and very comfortable. However, the staff was terrific. friendly and doing everything they could to make our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: From Renit (front office manager) to Albert (guest service manager) to Matthew who helped with getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, Ron74, and for recognizing our team's great work--we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

just came off two and a half weeks in France and London and had a layover in NYC for the night and discovered a gem of a place - The Refinery Hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful and genuinely caring and the finishes and decor were tastefully classic with generous room sizes and really wonderful bath hardware, great ambient lighting and many elegant small touches... will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timkyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

So happy you found us, timkyne, and that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for posting and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,074 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,860 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#65 of 469 in New York City
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $277 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing