We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Mexican Food”
Review of Anejo Tequileria

Anejo Tequileria
Ranked #631 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mexican Food”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

While looking for a late lunch place to eat in NYC, came across Anejo. The restaurant is small, but was packed from corner to corner. Sat outside and were quickly engaged and greeted by our server, who wasted no time in answering questions about the menu and drinks. Ordered the smoky margarita, which was different in a good way, and tasted the regular margarita, which was very rich and actually tasted like tequila. Food was delicious: tried the carnitas, grilled bbq pork, and guacamole. Chips were a tad too greasy but out of this world good. There was nothing to complain about, this restaurant earns its five star rating for what’s mentioned before but also for its outstanding service and convenience location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    80
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I went here with 3 of my friends and we would definitely return. The menu is all small plates, so we ordered guacamole ( that was served with some of the BEST homemade chips), each of us ordered tacos, and we shared 3 other plates and it was more than enough. I would definitely return. Everything was delicious with little twists in flavors to standard Mexican food and the service was prompt and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great drinks”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Been here about 5 times and always had a wonderful experience. It has the best tequila selection around and some interesting tequila drinks (try the Mexican Firing Squad). Wonderful and inventive food in a fun, crowded, friendly atmosphere. I love this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach, fl
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Bullseye!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Food, service & atmosphere were perfect. We had dinner here prior to seeing a Broadway musical and the location was perfect. Food is fresh and seasoned perfectly. Staff was attentive and made great suggestions on both food and drinks. Fun and sexy atmosphere! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdictjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place...”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Nice place for drinks and Tapas with friends... Nice variety of tequilas and cocktails. Cool for a night out in the town. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank DraMayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anejo Tequileria also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Anejo Tequileria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing