We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner for a weary traveler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Asian Cuisine

Shanghai Asian Cuisine
Ranked #862 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: good food for a good price
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dinner for a weary traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The food was very good. Service was also excellent. A few of the waitstaff were very fluent in English. They were accommodating when we asked to change tables for a better view. The Jasmine tea served to all guests was excellent. Our order was prepared and served in a timely fashion. Seating was comfortable and we were well taken care of. I would recommend this establishment to anyone seeking an authentic, well prepared meal at reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFought920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    51
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
223 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You want to eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Cash only. Fortunately, you won't need much cash to have a great meal. Try the pancakes, soup dumplings and pork dumplings. Plus, unlimited hot tea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank modernlizbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent shao long bao, clean, helpful waitstaff, cash ONLY...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Mostly locals having 7-ish dinner... We just arrived at 7 AM and it was lunchtime at home. Hubby ordered #125 Shanghai lo mein with mixed meat and shrimp for $7.75 and I went for #2 & 3 Steamed & Fried tiny buns with pork $4.75 each. Ate the steamed ones as they have the hot soup inside and don't do well the next day. I had ordered too much and opted to take the fried tiny buns home in case I got up later hungry. Dishes were reasonably priced and mostly local Chinese.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Brook, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yummy to my tummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Easy to find thank you trip advisor! Walked in, filled with locals, got to sit at a round table in the back with 2 men who were regulars. How lucky! They helped us navigate the menu and we ended up with the Best Chinese lunch EVER!! Tiny buns aka dumplings with soup inside have spoiled us! The noodles, the Kung pao everything even the tea was the best in New York. And the lovely gentleman sitting with us said he had just returned from Hong Kong and said even there the tiny buns were not as good. High praise!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this place walking through Chinatown. Really great food, good prices and large serving sizes, definitely would come back. Dumplings are fantastic.

Helpful?
1 Thank juttyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Asian Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shanghai Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing