We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every bit worth the rating!”
Review of Rafele

Rafele
Reserve with OpenTable
Rafele is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Morton st,
Transit: The nearest subway stations are: West4 on 6th ave where A,C,E,D,B,F,M trains are available and Christopher st station where number 1 train is available.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every bit worth the rating!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We decided to check out Rafele on our recent trip across the US east cost, because of its glowing Tripadvisor reviews. While it might not be a typical 'destination' restaurant, it is a great neighborhood restaurant in the West Village. The ambiance is pleasant and the service is excellent. We absolutely loved the swordfish, calamari and shrimp grill. The only downer, was the Pasta Bolognese, which could've had more flavour.

Even the staff did a great job of explaining the wine menu - we got a complementary glass of wine on arrival. This place is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    224
    45
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Needed to go back and did!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We found out about Rafele's from having it be one of the stops on a food tour we were on in Greenwich Village. We learned about a meal opportunity called "Chef's Choice" where Rafele caters to the group based on individual preferences/dietary needs such as if someone has a gluten allergy or issue with dairy or pork, he will cater to that and create a wonderful four course meal that left us more than satisfied. I believe this offer was in conjunction though with having been a part of the food tour, but at least worth inquiring about. Never the less, the waitstaff were courteous and professional (even re-folding my cloth napkin while I was in the bathroom). Our group of four thought the food was wonderful. When we go back to NYC, Rafele's will certainly be on our to-do list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Docoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very average food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is overrated. The food is average at best. The pasta is just ok, while as the pizza is mediocre

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaleya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
923 reviews
623 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Good neighbourhood restaurant”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is not a 'destination' restaurant for those seeking a trendy NYC experience. It is however a really good neighbourhood restaurant in the West Village. Decor is pleasant and service good. The meal was excellent...octopus to start followed by a linguini bolognese and a mixed seafood grill of swordfish, calamri and shrimp. Together with a nice bottle of Pinot Grigio the bill came to less than $75 per head plus tip, which is good value in NYC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Celebrated a birthday here with my wife. The restaurant has a nice open feel to it with the kitchen in full view. Not a fancy place. Some white tablecloths would give it an entirely different feel. Nice bar but small. Great martinis. Fresh pasta, tasty appetizers and a very nice Sangiovese made for a great dinner. My wife had the Pasta Bolognese which she found to be bland. The staff were very helpful and I would recommend this Italian restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafele also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rafele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing