We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice meal with a warm and unpretentious ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafele

Rafele
Reserve with OpenTable
Rafele is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Morton st,
Transit: The nearest subway stations are: West4 on 6th ave where A,C,E,D,B,F,M trains are available and Christopher st station where number 1 train is available.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very nice meal with a warm and unpretentious ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I chose Rafele on the strength of its reviews and wasn't disappointed. It was reasonably busy but not packed on the Wednesday evening I ate there, and had a warm and unpretentious ambience. We had the option of sitting on the street terrace which looked very pleasant but chose to eat indoors because there was an enormous articulated truck parked directly in front of the restaurant.

The food was excellent. I started with the pan-fried artichokes which were delicious followed by breaded pork chop that was very nicely cooked. The cheesecake to finish was clearly home made and is highly recommended.

If you're looking for a good honest Italian where you get a genuine welcome and get lovely home cooked food, I'd strongly recommend Rafele.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SixNineOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    214
    44
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were introduced to Rafele on our gastronomic tour of Greenwich Village and decided to go back for the tasting menu. If you do this you have to go early as the kitchen is too busy to do it later in the evening. We arrived at 6 to a quiet restaurant and Rafele asked us about any allergies or dislikes and then the food kept coming with introductions from either Rafele or our excellent waiters. Each course was delicious, with special mention going to the rice balls, fresh pasta, grouper and cheese cake. Everything is made in house and beautifully flavoured. You do need a large appetite for this, as unusually for a tasting menu the portions are normal sized.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
224 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Went for a lovely meal with a dear friend. Everything was superb. I had read good reviews and would agree and recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baohx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Super food, awful service (this time?)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ate at Refele's on 7th Avenue on a Friday evening, and it was pretty packed, with some large and quite noisy (sorority-style...) parties. We were promptly seated at the agreed time for the reservation, but our service suffered all evening long.
The food was excellent (appetizers of carciofi, calamari; followed by salads and grilled pork belly/branzino), and the wines we sampled were very palatable.
Howeever, the service was unacceptable. We were happy to pay for the food, but it was tough to squeeze out a decent tip for the service...
We will try the restaurant again in less stressed circumstances...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank another_traveler0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We found Rafele's while on the Greenwich walking tour and returned for dinner. Rafele welcomed us when we arrived and provided an AMAZING tasting menu for dinner. His food was exquisite in both taste and plating, and by far the best dinner that we shared in NYC. His staff and service were outstanding, and he came to visit with us several times throughout the dinner. We especially enjoyed his mussels, gnocchi, and house-made cheesecake (truly unbelievable). I would highly recommend Rafele to anyone wishing to have a great Italian meal and a must-visit while in NYC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eks P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafele also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rafele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing