We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Ranked #181 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Callahan, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I have not stayed at a Holiday Inn in years. Husband and I were looking for a hotel that would not cost us an arm and a leg. Price was great..front staff is incredible! Walking distance to China Town and Little Italy. Also felt very safe here. We will stay here again!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nannagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hello Nannagirl,

Thank your for your amazing 5 Star Review! Our Holiday Inn NYC-Lower East Side family is so delighted to read that you experienced such a wonderful stay with us! If you aren't already an IHG Rewards Member, you should definitely enroll to become one of our loyal members. It's the largest Rewards Program to date and grants our members great benefits. Thank you again for your recognition and recommendation, we look forward to your next adventure in the city that never sleeps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    256
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
140
196
44
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked this hotel through expedia and ended up incredibly happy about the choice. The three of us stayed in a room with 2 double beds and would say it was comfortably sized. The bathroom fittings were all no nonsense simple, modern and practical. Similarly the beds served their purpose well, giving a good nights sleep throughout the stay.

What really made our experience at this hotel was the friendliness of the front staff as well as the daily room clean/change service, which meant we could return in the evenings to a home from home environment with new towels, pillowcases etc. Really top marks from us!

The computer, internet and gym services were also very welcome and we appreciated the option. In regards to location it is just in that perfect spot to travel out from and return to. There is a subway just a block down which makes it easy to travel further into Manhattan, towards Brooklyn and return to JFK when flying back.

When we return to NYC we will definitely consider booking back at this particular holiday inn. Personally for me the best hotel experience I've experienced so far in regards to budget and location. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hello Nam T,

Thank you for your amazing 5 Star Review!! Our Holiday Inn-NYC Lower East Side family is truly humbled by your kind words and pleased to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. Our main priority is to ensure that our guests feel at home while they are with us. Thank you again for your recognition and recommendation. Please contact us in advance for your next booking, and take advantage of our Book Smart- Deals that Work Promotion. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Given what I have paid for hotel rooms in New York before, this was a good room at a good price in a convenient location. Room was a bit small, but I wasn't there for the room, I was there for a clean place to sleep close to restaurants, attractions and nice neighborhoods. This did the job well, you're walking distance away from so much, at a rate lower than what you'll find at a lot of other SoHo/Tribeca/Village hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hello Sadosky,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn NYC- Lower East Side family! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us with the traveler community. We are delighted to read that you found our hotel location convenient to your traveling needs. We are located in a terrific neighborhood, home to so many amazing restaurants and historic sites. We welcome you back with open arms and don't forget to contact us in advance for your next booking! Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in February, 2014. We got the AAA rate of only $117 a night, which is amazing for Manhattan. The hotel is very conveniently located just 1 block from the Delancey St subway stop and in the heart of the Lower East side. We walked everywhere we needed to go - LES, East Village, Soho, Chinatown. Tons of restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

I had requested a quiet room because I'm 6 months pregnant. We were put on the top floor in a corner room. It was a great room - almost brand new, nice bathroom, great bed, really nice view looking all the way out to the new Freedom Tower. The room was quiet but not totally quiet - we could still hear sirens and taxis in the night time and were woken up a few times by people in the hallway. I think because of the location and price of the hotel it attracts a lot of young people - it seemed like there were lots of parties going on. But what can you expect for this price?

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. While the room was small, it was functional, very clean, and almost brand new. We had a nice TV, nice toiletries (Bath & Body Works), a really nice tiled shower, and a great view. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms on each floor that overlook the back of the hotel - I would ask for these if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldengirl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello goldengirl217,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn NYC- Lower East Side with our traveler community. We are truly humbled by your words and are glad all of our accommodations and the beautiful views we offer exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next adventure in the city that never sleeps! Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevelsberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

It was awesome. Everybody was friendly and helpfully. The room was very clean. The location is perfect for visiting Manhattan. Thank you for the great stay. The room service was exactly and nice-every day fresh towels.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ltj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Greetings ltj14,

Thank you for your short but sweet review! We are so delighted to read that your stay at the Holiday Inn NYC- Lower East Side exceeded your expectations in every way possible. We look forward to your return, and please contact us in advanced for your next booking, well make sure to have a little welcome back surprise set up for your arrival. Happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel was booked for us by a travelling agency back home: we couldn't believe we could get such a good price for a hotel in Manhattan.
The venue is quite new. It's on the edge of the island close to the Williamsburg Bridge. It's on a busy road and the view from our hotel window wasn't very attractive. Still I thought this place was a gem. On top of the great price, it's spotlessly clean, the staff is helpfull and friendly and the beds were very comfortable. What more does one need?
This is where my one point of improvement comes in! The heating system was absolutely horrendous: an air conditioner blowing hot air and it kept on doing that all night long. Needless to say it affected our sleep quality. Turning the system off altogether was no option as it was freezing cold outside. I'd say: change it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BiancaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Greetings BiancaNL,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your most recent stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you might have encountered. Our main priority is to ensure that each and every one of our guests feel comfortable and welcomed while they are with us and it is dissatisfying to hear otherwise. If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please do not hesitate in contacting us directly. Thank you so much for your review and enjoy the rest of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights for a vacation. Would recommend. Please see below for positives and negatives.

Positives:

Staff were really friendly. They were efficient and happy. They also willingly made reservations at restaurants and organised a car service to JFK. We'll recommended as a lot more comfortable than a cab.

The heating worked really well. The units looked new and we're easily adjusted and instantly heated up the room. Didn't try the air con but would imagine that it would be the same.

The hotel is literally a block away from the subway where you can catch the F, M, J and Z trains. Useful if you want to get the subway from JFK. Also the hotel is just off the Williamsburg bridge which again is very handy for either JFK or LGA.

The rooms were nice. Modern and looked newly decorated. Bathrooms were nice. Bright and had a very nice shower. Bed was comfortable and had a range of soft and firm pillows. Coffee and tea making facilities and a good tv. We had a king size room and whilst the bed took up most of the room, it was fine for what we needed it for.

Staff were good at solving problems. We had a couple of problems with noisy neighbours. Phoned the front desk and was quiet within 2 mins.

Negatives:

If you are unlucky enough to get a room looking over Delancey then it is very noisy. Especially with police and ambulances thinking it is funny to sit outside your room and make stupid siren noises. Also the heating whilst brilliant is noisy. Would STRONGLY recommend ear plugs or requesting a room at the rear of the hotel.

The room is quite small. We had two pieces of luggage each and it took up the rest of the room. The room was comfy though.

In terms of location it was a little out of the way for our liking but hey the price of the room made up for it. However it was a bit of a mission to get from the hotel up to midtown and Central Park.

All in all though I would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jimbo5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Greetings jimbo5153,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with our traveler community. I am happy you were able to take advantage of all of the amenities we offer. Thank you once more for your lovely words and recommendation. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to the city. Happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#347 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#54 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#339 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
#195 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#111 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#197 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Address: 150 Delancey Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On March 19th, 2013, the Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side opened at corner of Delancey and Suffolk Street, complete with a widely appeasing ambiance, decor, and amenities. This new, contemporary non-smoking boutique hotel brims with surprises-from the sleek walnut floors in our spacious guest quarters, to the impeccably adorned public spaces. Set in historic heart of Manhattan's Lower East Side, our friendly and familiar hotel delights at every turn, drawing repeat visitors with a heightened level of charm. From the linens to the lobby, the brand new reflects the joy, excitement, and luxury of the modern New York City lifestyle. Step through our boutique-style lobby, and you will instantly be treated with personalize service from our hospitality staff. Within the solace of our hotel, you will find free Wi-Fi, and many modern conveniences, including business and fitness center access and lobby snack shop. Enjoy service from our ever-attentive staff, delicious dishes from the tables of our in-house restaurant, and world-class amenities in the comfort of spacious and stylish guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Agoda, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing