We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Redford Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sago Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orchard Street Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SIXTY LES(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Ridge Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
320
315
72
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
315
72
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilliamsburg bridgedelancey streetsubway stationretro baressex stwalking distance to chinatowntenement museumnew yorkdunkin donutsnever felt unsafefront desk stafffew blocksbed was comfortablerooms are modernrestaurants and barswould definitely stay here againthe hotel is clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 738 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

For once a hotel that actually was exactly like the pictures they posted......spotlessly clean, great value for money and amazingly friendly staff.....

We stayed here for 6 nights from the 28th of Oct to the 2nd of Nov,our first time to New York.This hotel was a great base to explore the touristy stuff in New York. We discovered the Lower Eastside area in the latter part on our stay and wished we'd found it early.

Only minor point is that we wished our room had a small fridge, but this was a very minor point. Plan to stay here again on our next trip the NY. Overall this hotel was perfect for our needs. **Friendly Staff in NY **....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmc942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hello jmc942,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us! Our Holiday Inn Lower East Side family takes pride on the service we offer to our guests. We ensure that each of our guests are treated as a member of our family and that they feel free to ask assistance whenever needed. Refrigerators are not placed in each guest room, however we do have some set aside for guest requests. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to your next stay with us. Happy and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I'll preface this review by saying that finding a hotel -- any hotel -- that is not luxury class and expensive in this entire section of Manhattan is difficult.

The hotel inside appears to be freshly upgraded/remodeled. It is very nicely done. Our room was small but not cramped, typical of a NYC hotel standard accommodation. The bed was comfortable, the desk area functional, the lighting excellent, and the air handling quite good. The bath was small but functional. We did not use any of the amenities, and based on the listing, they seem minimal. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, and it is secure.

OK, location: you are not really conveniently located for much of anything, other than you are in Manhattan, East of Chinatown, South of the East Village, and North of the Lower East Side. It is a neighborhood that is in transition -- busy, gritty, nothing special. Access to the rest of NYC is simple, by bus or by Subway. Taxis apparently don't like getting too close to the Williamsburg Bridge traffic, and none of a half dozen trips brought us any closer than two blocks from the "front" door, which is NOT on Delancey Street, but to the side (Suffolk St.).

The Subway is located two blocks to the West (Delancey and Essex), and buses directly to the more lively East Village area can be gotten at Allen Street. You can, of course, walk, and the areas to the West and North are reasonably decent neighborhoods. Basically the hotel location is a fast food and convenience store mecca.

The ONE THING really not great about this hotel is NOISE. OK, street noise in a hotel on Manhattan is a given. This is NYC. But the soundproofing to the hallway, and to adjacent rooms, is what you would expect in a budget motel in Meridian, Mississippi. And, suffice it to say, locals and visitors to NYC are not known for being quiet or sedate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hello Eric S,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Lower East Side family! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and for pointing out our terrific staff and comfortable rooms. However, it is saddening to hear that you found our location to be just "OK". The Lower East Side is a wonderful neighborhood with tons of places to explore and so many great restaurants to try. We invite you to stay with us again on your next trip to the Big Apple, and we will ensure your stay is flawless. Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great staff and rooms. Neighbourhood is amazing, though Delancey still has some of the quickly vanishing grit of the Lower East Side. You're within blocks of Katz's deli, lots of great bars, Greenwich Village. Bring good walking shoes. Full points to the friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms facing the street can be noisy, but this is New York not a cruise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hello Gregory T,

Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your amazing review, it is so wonderful to hear that your recent stay with us met and exceeded your expectations. The Lower East Side is a magnificent neighborhood and we are so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you Gregory for pointing out our wonderful staff members, it is truly our passion to provide the best customer service possible. We welcome you back with open arms and look forward to your future visits to the Big Apple! Happy and Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff at check in desk and throughout the hotel were very friendly. It was pouring rain one morning, we were offered umbrellas on our way out.
The room was clean.
Location was perfect for trying new restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello sma923,

Thank your for your short but sweet review! Ensuring that we provide the best customer service possible is our goal, and we are so pleased to have met and exceeded your expectations. We are always seeking ways to further accommodate our guests and offering an umbrella on a rainy day is one of them. We look forward to your future adventures in the city that never sleeps. Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. We had a red eye flight from Salt Lake City, and flew into to JFK at 7AM feeling very exhausted and wanting to go back to bed. I called the hotel when we landed, they were able to get us an early check in. They were VERY nice and friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very clean, free wi-fi, and great AC on those hot summer days! It was a short distance from JFK, and a block away from a subway station. We could hop on the J and get anywhere quicky. There was also a delicious pizza place a couple blocks away called Staton Pizza that we frequented. $2 a slice! I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the street are a little quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello Megan C,

Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your terrific 5 Star Review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms clean, comfortable and accommodating. The F,J,M subway station is just a short walk from the hotel and can get you to anywhere in the city in just 15 minutes! I have not actually tried Stanton Pizza but will certainly give it a try, thank you for your recommendations and we welcome you back with open arms. Happy and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews