We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I heart Pod 39”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #199 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is my headquarters in NYC. It's just a few blocks from Grand Central so travel all over town is cab free. After work it's close to Bryant Park for dinner and people watching. Clean, quite and easy to grab a cab to the airport.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Methetraveler1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim L, Front Office Manager at Pod 39 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Methetraveler1961

We are so glad we are your place to stay during your trip into New York City. Our centrally located hotel gives all our guest the opportunity to trek anyway in the city. The next time you plan on staying at Pod 39, please shoot me a quick email so we can take care of your next reservation.

Thank You
Timothy Lau
tim.l@thepodhotel39.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 3,466 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Moved out of the city and coming back for a visit. Stayed in this Hotel 7 nights. Nice Hotel but super small. It does however have all you need. But it you are tall, or robust this hotel will feel very tight.
It is pretty busy on weekends because It has a very nice roof top bar and rest, mostly young People present.
The location is great-not too busy area and a couple Of blocks from Grand Central Station.
The Hotel is clean and the room temperature is perfect.
Pros: 1. Good location.
2. Clean
3. Great Roof Garden
4. Nice staff
Cons: 1. Busy lobby
2. Repairs in Hotel entrance
3. Super small rooms
4. Noisy-on weekends.
In general this Hotel is great for short term visits.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Escapee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

POD 39 -Gives you exactly what they say they will... small rooms, but clean and a great location. If you are not interested in a very small room I believe they have 3 different types for you to choose from...17th floor bar is great. Front desk personnel were very helpful with ideas and directions. Three blocks from Subway system and a number of decent restaurants around the area.

Room Tip: Entrance was under construction but was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

It's a budget hotel in the middle of Manhattan. Although the first time you look at prices you'll think a description of it as budget isn't quite right!

The hotel was perfect for the two of us in our mid/late 20s. The room was small and you're on top of each other so unless you've been in a relationship for a while and don't mind hearing your partner go to the toilet then it's a very good priced hotel for NYC.

Everything was clean and grand Central is only about 10 mins away. We stayed for four nights and completed our must-do list for the four days by lunch on the second! The hotel was a perfect launch into NYC for a couple spending nearly all of our time in Manhattan and I've recommend the hotel to a friend who has singed stayed there and approved my recommendation!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_lewis_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Pod 39. We chose this hotel over others due to its location and the bar terrace with great views. We were not disappointed, the hotel lived up to our expectations. The hotel is close the Grand Centre Station and walking distance to Time Square. The rooms are compact and clean which is all we required as most of the day and evening was spent sight seeing and shopping. We were placed on the 10th floor so we didn't hear any noise from the street. The shower and the wifi worked well. We found the staff very friendly and helpful which made a difference from other places we had stayed whilst in the US. We really enjoyed our short stay and will be sure to book here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlinTwistdSistr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Location is great, room is the size of a shoe box and the sheets smell like mould. I wouldn't stay here again. The pictures on the website give a false impression. Look around you will find something better.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Only ten mins walk from central station we stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are tiny but v clean and have all you need. Little desk, shower room in the actual room so if you are sharing and want privacy you wont get much. Make sure you like the person you are in the room with! Free wifi, very good cheap breakfast coffee or juice with a croissant $3 or with a bagel$4 dollars. Really fresh and great juice would recommend. Front desk staff helpful. I think this hotel is reasonably priced lovely atmosphere and great staff.

Room Tip: You can choose bunks, double or single very quiet on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 430kezza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,014 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#203 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 470 in New York City
1,593 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 470 in New York City
4,461 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 470 in New York City
5,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $101 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient, and personalized accommodations for the stylish and savvy traveler. Located in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Midtown Manhattan, we're close to all of the action but away from the hustle and bustle. Just steps from Grand Central Terminal, five subway lines will transport you all over New York City. There's a Pod for every person, and endless possibilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing