We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, Small, Quirky, Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Affordable, Small, Quirky, Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel is location on east 39th street in NY, a 5 minute walk from grand central station, madisson ave, park ave, etc. The rooms are small, but the beds are the perfect size, clean, and super comfortable. When in NY I'm always on the go, so this place was well suited to my needs, it was centralized, 2 minute walk to starbucks, in a busy area where there were lots of cabs. The hotel has one of the best mexican/latin infusion restaurants in the city (in my opinion) The rooftop has a beautiful view on either side, and the cocktails and guac from salvation taco are untouchable. There were many moroccan themed decor rooms, one leading to the terrace, and the book room downstairs were full of colours and patters that were really aesthetically appealing. The only room for improvement here, is that I would prefer more towels in the bathrooms, and thicker, or bigger, we kept running out and it was a little bit of a hassle, more so for house keeping - (the towels were very thin), I'd advise you to bring your own.

The concierge, the door man, the staff at the bar, extremely friendly and hospitable, especially for tourists, they give you great ideas of fun things to do in the city. Overall a great stay, great prices, very affordable, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for extra towels, as they tend to be small and thin. have lunch on the rooftop, or snacks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    1,451
    381
    69
    42
See reviews for
376
1,073
623
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a few days during December 2013. Rooms are small, like most in NYC, but the decor makes the hotel different from the mainstream hotels, and adds a fun factor. The staff were friendly and efficient. Location is great too, close to train stations, and in walking distance from Times Square and Central Park. Will stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 447mariuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim L, Front Office Manager at Pod 39 Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Marius,

I am glad you experience the "FUN" during your stay with us. Our motto has always been to provide a unique and whimsical experience for all our guest. We never hide the fact for being "small", and we glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the future. You can always contact me directly if you are planning your next trip to New York City @ tim.l@thepodhotel39.com

Thank you
Timothy Lau
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Good location within walking distance to Times Sq and many other attractions. The hotel has small but comfortable rooms. Our room was very clean and quiet. The hotel also hosts a very nice and busy skybar!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josefin_Skaran14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Cosy room which was modern, very clean and quiet at night. Amazing Rooftop bar and a nice mexican restaurant on the ground floor. Wifi worked perfectly on the 13th floor. Would highly recommend to anyone to stay

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Pod 39 excellent location in quiet st 3 mins walk from Grand Central . Room modern and comfortable and very clean would of liked bigger softer towels but free WI if friendly staff and superb view from rooftop bar compensates . Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank gillian1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you're looking for a posh hotel with a lot of room, keep looking. If you're looking for a clean, modern room with a hot shower and a good bed at the end of a busy day of sight seeing, this hotel is perfect. I recently stayed here in the Queen room at the end of the same hallway as the mini bunk room (5th floor). My teenage son and his friend stayed in the mini bunk. This was the perfect set-up for us and any family with dependent children. You can lock the door at the end of the hall and leave the doors open between these rooms if your children are really young. It basically gives you a private suite. The hotel itself gives off a hip and trendy vibe. The decor is bright and colorful. Most of the people milling around in the lobby bar were in their 20s and early 30s. The rooms are basically a bed, TV and small bathroom. Space is at a premium but I never felt claustrophobic or uncomfortable. The service was great. I called and asked for an iron and ironing board and both were delivered to my door within 5 minutes. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out were a snap. I parked my car within 2 blocks in an ICON garage that gives guests a discount, so 24 hrs is $25. The hotel location is just a few blocks from Grand Central. This will be my new go-to place when staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank boymom1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My eighteen-year-old daughter and I stayed at Pod 39 for several days in June. She had just graduated from high school and had never been to NYC. I was hoping for a memorable mother-daughter experience before she launched off to college as I had a similar trip with my mother at about the same age. After substantial Trip Advisor research I felt fairly comfortable in my expectations for Pod 39, what others' perceived to be positive and negative attributes of the hotel. I emailed the hotel several days prior to our arrival to see if checking our luggage would be an option as we would be arriving in the City around 8:00 a.m. I received a response within thirty minutes reassuring me that this would be fine. Upon our arrival the hotel staff were very welcoming and checked our luggage, allowing us to begin our exploration of NYC baggage-free. We were also told of the possibility of an early check-in and returned around 1:00 p.m. to find that our room was ready for us. Our mini-bunk pod was exactly as I expected, tightly-quartered but clean, quiet and safe. The shower was hot with good pressure. The televisions at the end of our beds allowed us each to decompress in our own quiet way after twelve to fifteen hours of urban exploration. The mattress was adequate for my middle-aged back and we both slept tightly and restoratively in our little "space capsule", rejuvenated for the next day's adventures. The neighborhood felt very safe as my daughter and I walked back well after dark each night. There was a "hipster" vibe to the hotel later in the evenings, but I (obviously not a hipster) did not feel uncomfortable and my daugher got to feel somewhat "hip", although she was too young to engage in nightime, roof-top socializing. We did get to enjoy a quiet roof-top experience early one afternoon. basically having it to ourselves, and the the view is outstanding. On our last day we did not have to leave for the airport until 6:00 p.m. Pod 39 exceeded my expectations by holding our luggage several hours after our check-out time, enabling us to enjoy the City up until our last moment. Please tip these people for this wonderful service! In summary, Pod 39 is perfect if you are low maintenance, come with light luggage and plan to spend most of your time enjoying the City. I suggest a "City Pass" which allows reduced-fee entry into six attractions without having to wait in line. Scotty's is a small diner on the corner which offers a good, reasonably-priced American breakfast. There is a Starbuck's one block down from Scotty's. Walk two more blocks and you are at Grand Central Station. Hop, skip and a jump!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank DeLois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,733 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing