We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wee Small Rooms, Great Location”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #197 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days at the end of June but this adventure started in January. Reserved a queen room for one price and a few weeks later I noticed a drop in price. I called and it was fixed quickly. Check-in was smooth and the lobby was jumping (people lined up for the taco bar and rooftop bar). The room is small but who cares, it was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom, as one reviewer put it, is a glass enclosure within the room. This hotel reminded me of what would happen if Ikea decided to get into the hotel business. The only one thing that gave us pause was that the door did not lock. The hook on the door was the only security we had, so FYI. Given that, we would definitely stay here again. As for location, close to Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Empire State Building, Chrysler Building, Bryant Park, etc...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Elfuegobuendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,365)
There are newer reviews for Pod 39 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,416 of 3,366 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is centrally located, very close to Grand Central Station. Instead of paying for a car service to the airport, I decided to pay a little more and enjoy an evening in NYC. It was easily walkable from GCS, even with my large suitcase. The staff were very friendly and check in/checkout were a breeze. As previous reviews had suggested, the rooms were very tiny, but totally doable if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel. The rooms were clean, but the hallways were dark and didn't appear to be as clean. The sink in the bathroom has one faucet with cold water only. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Pod 39 for a week. We chose this hotel because it was fairly priced taking into account that it's New York City. It is not bang in the centre of the most touristy parts of Manhattan, but not too far away either.

The rooms are small and the bathroom is basically a glass enclose within the room, but it adds to the urban vibe of the hotel. The room has a modern design and was kept nice and clean. One slight negative is the lack of ventilation in the bathroom. Condensation built up on the windows in the bathroom and bedroom so we had to open the windows to clear it which was quite chilly in March.

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Cental station which links you to the rest of New York. It's a slightly longer walk to Broadway and Times Square. If the weather is bad you can take the shuttle subway. A tip for other tourists, the subway week pass can be bought at the transport museum in Grand Central, not the ticket machines or booths.

Nearby the hotel there are a few diners and convenience stores that are open 24/7. The immediate area isn't overly exciting but it gives you a feel of how it is to live in Manhattan. All-in-all, a nice place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

For a special Daddy-Daughter trip my 11 year old wanted to go to NYC. The sites on her to-do list were all south of Central Park so finding affordable, convenient hotels was paramount. In reviewing the available rooms we saw the Pod hotels. They looked interesting and were comparatively affordable for mid-town Manhattan so we booked a micro-sized bunk room with private bath at Pod 39. Although the room was small it was very nice. We found good amenities, great service and the location was amazing. We could walk to Grand Central in about 10 minutes and from there you can go anywhere. The neighborhood was nice with a variety of restaurants and watering holes of various types within a 10-15 minute walk. Overall, if you want an affordable nice place and desire something different I'd book Pod 39. If you are claustrophobic I wouldn't suggest the mini-bunk like we had but they have larger rooms as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Checked in around 11.30 AM, and where other hotels usually only have rooms available after 14.00 PM, my room was immediately available, and they upgraded my single pod to a queen pod! Room was clean, modern, and had all the necessities I needed, including a hairdryer. Location was also great, only a 5-7 minute walk to Grand Central, and had nearby stores like CVS and Duane Reade if I ever needed anything. Price was also reasonable for the prime location. Loved my time here and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nindi_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a clean, inexpensive hotel without the unnecessary frills that I rarely use in a hotel anyway. The rooms are tiny so at times you and your partner need to negotiate your movements carefully. The hotel is quiet, very clean, and the beds are comfortable which is all I want in a hotel. There's a fabulous rooftop patio for an evening drink, and a decent bar/games room downstairs. Staff is friendly and helpful. The only knock I'd have is the bathroom separation. The frosted glass doesn't do much for privacy. I get the whole hipster vibe to the place, but no matter how comfortable you are with your partner, sometimes a little 'me' time is required, and the partially frosted glass doesn't really do it. The bunk bed rooms are worse, as my daughter found out with her brother waving at her from the top bunk as she sat on the can. Rather funny for most of us, but some might be put off by it. I'd definitely come back. The location in midtown is perfect for what I need.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dart_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Pod39 is located in the Murray Hill residential neighbourhood, which is quiet and not touristy. It's close to Lexington Avenue and a strip of restaurants and a diner and good bagel shop for breakfast. In the other direction 2nd Avenue has a supermarket a few blocks south. Buses run uptown on 2nd (I took one from the Bowery/Chinatown area) and downtown on Lexington. Grand Central is about 3 blocks walk away to the nearest subway. The airporter bus from JFK and LGA stops south of Grand Central on Park Avenue and it's only about 5 minutes walk along Park Ave then along 39th St to the Pod.

The hotel has a very cool modern designed interior, in an old building. I booked a single room, for about $200++, but think I was upgraded to something larger. The room had space to put my suitcase on a rack, there was a desk and a flat screen large TV, with great picture quality.The internet, via wifi, worked well.

I didn't like the bathroom, which was big in comparison to the room. The bathroom wall was glass along one side of the bedroom, partially frosted, so you can see everything going on, from the bedroom. OK if you are the only one in the room. Privacy may be a problem if there are two of you. In my bathroom the water from the shower went all over the bathroom floor, which was irritating. Also there was nowhere in the shower to put your soap and shampoo. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up in my bathroom,very awkward for guys trying to hold up the seat. So the cool design was not very practical. Apparently not all bathrooms have these problems at the Pod39.

Pod39 is a good, clean and comfortable place to stay, if you want to be in this part of midtown if you can get a reasonable room rate. Prices can be very variable. I enjoyed the Pod39, but it has a few limitations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oft_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#186 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#73 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#349 of 468 in New York City
18,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $125 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing