We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my expectations”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #196 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Metro Boston
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Met my expectations”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Sure it feels like a bit like a college dorm, but for little over $100 for a night in NYC, it was great. Clean, well-kept room, with no space wasted. A sink plug and an iron would have been nice, but no big deal. I wanted a clean, reasonable place to stay near Grand central for a one-day meeting in NYC and Pod 39 met my expectations. Lobby bar/taco joint was a nice touch, although the $13 Margarita had traditional NYC pricing. Don't hesitate to give it a try if you know what to expect.

Room Tip: Middle floors are probably best for sound purposes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick_C1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    1,509
    400
    77
    45
See reviews for
400
1,104
651
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Pod 39 was an awesome hotel. The Hotel rooms are small (which is the concept of the POD) but smartly laid out. We were in the Mini Bunk rooms. Each Bunk had its own flat screen TV, small ledge with electrical outlets to plug in your ipod, computer etc. There was desk and chair. We had free WIFI and a safe which was awesome. The rooms were uber clean and the beds comfy.
The bathroom has all glass with a sliding door. All the glass is frosted which creates quite the image with someone is in there.
Location Location Location. we could not have asked for a better location. Walking distance to Grand Central Station . Plus the roof top patio is quite the happening place right now for local New Yorkers. the place is hopping every night. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Although the rooms here are small the price was perfect. We had struggled so hard to find a reasonably priced hotel where we had our own beds so pod seemed like the perfect solution.

The beds were clean and really comfortable which was important since a week is a fairly long time to be in NYC. Each bed had it's own TV, light and plug socket which was ideal. The staff who cleaned the room everyday were really friendly and after a few days once we'd sorted out our stuff it really felt quite homely. The only downside is the glass door to the bathroom, luckily my best friend and I know each other well so going to the bathroom and having showers in front of each other didn't seem that much of a problem but if you're on business or something it might be an issue. This said the shower is amazing and the huge mirror was a blessing when it came to 2 girls getting ready for a night out at the same time.

The area it's located in really couldn't be better, it's quiet, relatively tourist-free and there are hundreds of places to eat nearby. It's moly a short walk to Grand Central so you can pretty much get to any part of New York easily.

There was a little bit of noise on one of the nights from the upstairs bar since we were only one or two floors underneath it but when my friend went up to mention it it was sorted immediately. Other than that for a city centre hotel it really is quiet on an evening so you can get a good nights sleep. I'll definitely return next time I'm in New York.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Charly_murg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The public spaces and amenities are trendy, cool and popular. My one hesitation during check-in was that my room might get noise from the crowd on the first floor. Even though my room was on the 2nd floor, it was silent and serene!

The room was gorgeously designed. Small? Yes. Comfortable? Totally!

The shower was... HANDS DOWN... the best shower I have ever had in any hotel, EVER! I could have stayed under that spray all day!

I booked my room directly on the Hotel's website and got a rate that was $5.00 lower than the lowest discount rate offered on other travel websites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 246Larryc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel reminded me so much of living in the dorms. The rooms are tiny (which I'm not complaining about-- you know what you are getting when you book at this place, the rooms are supposed to be small and minimalist). They're very clean and modern, though. The bed was comfy and the AC works great (not always a given in NYC, but a must in the humid summer months). My room did kind of smell a little like mildew and corn chips, though (again, reminiscent of dorm life). I would have given this place more stars, except it was so noisy! My first couple nights there were during the week and were very quiet. But the last night was a Friday, and groups of people coming back to the hotel at night, talking and yelling in the halls, kept me up til after 2am. The hotel is very modern and trendy, and if you're in NYC on a budget with a big group looking to party, this place might be perfect for you. If you don't want to feel like you're living in a dorm, though, don't stay here (or at least avoid it on the weekend).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aknoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I spent 5 days in New York for a friend's wedding earlier this year and this was the perfect base. I arrived on a Friday night and the lobby was buzzing with smiling people heading up to the rooftop bar. The staff were welcoming and checked me in super efficiently. The room itself was small and functional - exactly as the website suggested. The shower was brilliant and the bed very comfortable, my floor was amazingly quiet and I slept really well. I loved the rooftop bar too - great cocktails and music. As a gluten free person, this was also a great location - a gf bakery on the next block and Bloom's deli that served amazing gluten free pancakes over the road too. I love walking and this was a great base from which to explore both downtown and all the way up to Moma and Central Park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

It's an amazing space and I was soooo looking forward to trying here - however I have only rated it average due to our experience.
We headed over to Pod 39 only to get there at 11pm to be told they were no longer serving ! (In the city that never sleeps !! No waaay ) - so we took some pics and went to another rooftop bar where we had no problem Getting a drink

Helpful?
Thank shalovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,879 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 467 in New York City
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,168 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
5,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing