We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay for meetings at the UN”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short stay for meetings at the UN”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Pod39 Queen Bed room was a bit tight, with small shower area and little hanging or drawer space and small desk. However all was clean and modern, quiet, with all the basics you need and the double bed very comfortable. The room had an internal courtyard view , but there was no vis-a-vis. I was on the 7th floor - I suggest aiming for a high floor and external view. I certainly would not reserve a smaller pod even though this was pricey at 300 USD a night without breakfast, but this was manageable for a short stay when I was out in meetings mostly. The breakfast options were simple and good value. The advantages of this hotel might still bring be back though, if there was a better deal by booking in advance: walking distance to the UN HQ and to Times Square etc; beautiful terrace with rooftop bar overlooking Manhattan, decent food, lively and dynamic feel, excellent location etc. And the Mexican resto bar on the ground floor was colourful, good music, good sophisticated Mexican food and always lively (in the eves a bit loud, but only in the public areas).

Room Tip: Higher floor with external view better. Stay in one of the bigger pods - especially if you are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARIM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    1,509
    400
    77
    45
See reviews for
400
1,104
651
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and accurate to their pictures. In a great location only 5-10mins walk from Grand Central Terminal, we were also able to walk to the Empire State Building and Rockefeller Plaza. The staff were welcoming and helpful too. The hotel also has free wifi which was fast enough to video call on. We stayed in a Queen Pod, which was snug and I wouldn't have liked anything smaller. Having said that it was a nice room, clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay again if I was in New York.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philipdunsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The first time we got there when the hotel was still under construction. Nevertheless, my bestfriend and I felt at home. It's so easy to get there and the location is just perfect if a traveler needs a safe place to stay. Pod39 is for us. It's sleek, clean, eco-friendly, very efficient, and the interiors were cleverly designed.

Room Tip: Find a good deal on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the queen bed suite. It was a good size for me and my fiancé. The bathroom ordeal is just fine fogged glass door slides to close the bathroom from the room and the shower has a curtain so I wouldn't worry much about that. Taco Salvation was cool very hip chips and salsa was tasty. Tons of great tequilas to choose from. Rooftop bar was really cool and great to check out after a night out for dinner. Although at 10PM their taps for beers ran out which I found odd for a bar in the city so early! Found it a bit over priced when compared to local hotels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was traveling alone to meet some friends in NEW York and got a great deal on this pod hotel .
Every one was really friendly and the rooms were extremely clean. ( prob because they had just opened and the rec. told me I was the 2nd person in that room so far) They have ipads on the walls to use while you are waiting in the lobby .

And what an awesome location, 3 blocks from Grand Central station . a few more and your at New York Public library , Briant Park ( to play chess, ping pong or watch a show/play) and Timesquare , !!!

Wow the heart of it all !!!

Smaller rooms like those in the big apple for sure, but clean sleek and Location , Location , Location ..... All you need to visit anywhere in times square.

Scotty's diner is right around the corner , Open 24hrs and I lived there. grilled chicken with sauce

Hope you liked the review and happy travels..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabastians M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I just hung up after trying to change/cancel a reservation. What a nightmare, most hotels (and I travel about 40%-50% of the time for work) have some sort of leniency when you call and I say "hey I had a really busy day, my plans changes and I won't be there or maybe I will." But not Pod 39, I called only 3 hours after the cancellation deadline and there was not listening to me. I had to call, let me point out, because when I attempted to cancel this reservation online earlier in the day I was unable to find the cancel reservation button, which is what most normal places have for cancelling reservations. But at Pod 39 the cancel reservation is hidden under another icon and another button so it's almost impossible to find. When I spoke with some sort of manager he said that I had all day to call, sorry I really don't. I have a job and taking the time to look up the number on a website that had navigational issues is time consuming. Some of us actually work 10-12 hr days and don't have the time to find the number and then call them, get transferred to two people to pretty much be told "this is your fault for not trying."

So buyer beware, this is not a place where they will treat you like at the Hilton. Horrible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Rooms are small, but has everything you'll need, including free wifi and HD cable. Make sure you're extremely comfortable with whoever you're sharing the room with as the bathroom doesn't have a fully closing door. Just a frosted sliding glass door with a hole on the side for a handle. You can here EVERYTHING on the other side of the door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenorDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 467 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,178 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing