We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect NYC Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect NYC Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I found the Pod hotels during an extensive quest to find something fun & hip, but somewhat affordable in Manhattan. We loved the funky, tiny room. When I say tiny, I mean tiny, but still comfortable and very well designed to maximize the small space. It still wasn't very cheap, but the best value for the quality that I was able to find. Location was great as we could easily walk to Times Square, Grand Central, etc.. The rooftop bar is absolutely wonderful and affords views of the Empire State Building and the Chrysler Building. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a queen pod, and my husband and I were both comfortable. We had a corner unit so we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmw930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    1,451
    381
    72
    42
See reviews for
378
1,073
623
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sykkylven
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Me and a friend of mine, decieded to take a girl's trip to this fun city. It's not easy to choose between so many hotels, which there are in NYC. So first thing's first. Location: The hotel is locateded in midtown - east. Perfect. If you're in New York for the first time, it's nice to be nearby midtown Manhattan. Why? Three reasons: This way, you will more quickly get to know the city. The distances between your hotel and the thing you want to see aren't that big ( it's easy to underestimate the size of this city and the distances in it ). And it's nice to have a hotel nearby if you want to leave your shoppingsbags and head out for another round :) The hotel is a couple of blocks from Grand Central Station. Perfect for moving around. Standard: excellent! The hotel is new, trendy, colorful, cool, nice, and cozy. Rooms: we booked a room with queensize bed, our OWN bathroom ( this hotel offers shared bathrooms as well as many, many other hotels in the city, so if you don't want to share, beware of this choice when you`re about to book a room at any hotel in NY ), well cleaned every day, ok sized bathroom, And the room layout made the room not feel so small as it was. The wall between the bedroom and bathroom was a glaswall frosted in the middle to hide certain bodyparts if you`re shy ;) The wall made the room seem much bigger. Lets make one thing straight! HOTELROOMS IN NEW YORK ARE SMALL, you can search the web as much as you want, but most of them are small. You can't escape it. That is, if you don't want to pay a foretune for a room, which you hopefully aren't planning to spend a lot of time in. If you plan to stay in your room for more than sleep, a change of clothes, or a shower, then you don't belong in NYC. So please, spend your money on something else than on an overexspensive hotel. We started in this hotel for 6 days. And we have nothing to complain about. The only thing might be that the air-condition made a bit noise when we were going to sleep. but we solved it by leaving the air condition on a bit cooler in the day, and than turned it off at night. Worked every day. Other: the hotel was connected to a restaurant / bar with a roof top department. Here you can buy breakfast in the morning, and drinks in the evening. We loved it. We never went anywhere else for breakfeast. The had delisious newly made croissants and bagels every morning. We discovered that the place was full of locals, almost every night. So new yorkers love it to evedentially. The hotel sits in a quiet street ( for new York to be ) we never had a problem during night with traffic. Just heard the ambulance a couple of times. So the conclusion: I am going back to this hotels for my next trip to this city. I loved it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I encountered the Pod hotels on the internet and loved how they make up for their small rooms by nice details such as the window panes and the rain shower in the (bath) room, the colourful and creative design of the restaurant/lounge and the s-p-e-c-t-a-c-u-l-a-r roof top bar.
My room was clean & quiet, the mattress and pillows comfortable, the bathroom spotless. Kind employees at the front desk. Good location, close to Grand Central Station and the subway. And the free guided walk the hotel offers its guests with Street Wise Tours' Andrew is superb!
I'll be back! Save yourself money and book at the Pod!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyngby-Taarbak Municipality, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice hotel, but small rooms. Clean, comfortable and affordable. We had a nice view of Empire state building from our window, which improved the experience significantly. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank winsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have stayed at expensive New York city hotels such as the 60 Thompson, Mercer, Soho Grand etc. But my budget is tight at the moment and wanted something efficient for a quick one night stay. Whilst i was hesitant at first. I caved in and booked at the Pod. The staff was friendly on arrival, and the room was tiny, but i expected it. All i wanted was a clean room with a clean shower. I was assigned a room on the 17th floor which was great. The only hiccup was the air suction from the bathroom was too noisy. I had the same problem at the Smyth which is like that in everyone of their rooms. But at the Pod, i asked front desk if i could change to a room that did not have a shower with an air suction and they assigned me to a room on the 13th floor. It was perfect. I had a great night sleep. Did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms and i was not near elevators so i did not hear anything at all (at least not more than i would in any other hotels.). Like i said the rooms are tiny. I think even if i had travelled with my husband, we would have managed, as we travel light. Not sure how this would work with people travelling from abroad with large luggage. The internet is free and i also loved their courtyard on the 17th floor. I had it all to myself the afternoon just before my flight. The room are super clean as everything is new and the bed is comfortable. Although i would not recommend for people that are more than 6ft tall. The other plus, is that it is one block from Grand Central (less than 5 minutes walk), so i could get those airport buses to JFK. If i have any complaints (which are tiny) is that all the showers are rain showers which is not very user friendly if you want to have a quick wash before dinner without washing your hair. And the other thing, is that they charge if you want to have stuff shipped to the hotel. I think it should be free if they impose a limit of let's say 3 packages. Other than that. I have booked my July stay at the Pod again. My only regret is that i did not know about the Pod earlier.

Room Tip: Avoid 1708 as the bathroom as an air suction and since it is the highest floor it is probably closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieCKiddada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

great hotel in manhattan and most of all... affordable.
the hotel is at a walking distance from Grand Central Station, very clean, wi-fi everywhere, with a fantastic "salvation taco" at the ground floor with food, music and nice people.
great NY view, roof bar, fabolous shower.
rooms are very small, but you don't go to Manhattan to waste time in the hotel.
the cheapest reservation is from the hotel website, and you can cancel it till the last day.
just go there

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had 5 nights, comfortable with a divine roof top bar with great views. Tiny room , normal for New York . Clean , small shower . A great stay in a great location . There is a great diner around the corner in Lexington. This hotel is good if you don't care how small your space can get , but in New York , we spent little time in it apart from sleeping .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grand2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,738 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing