We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pod-tastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #191 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pod-tastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

OK first off you must set expectations. This is a POD not a room so I didn't expect to stay there aside from bathing and sleeping and it is more than enough for that. Don't compare this to a hotel ROOM. I thought the place was young and energetic, the bathroom portion of the pod was decked out nicely and was great to wake up to. The hotel staff were friendly and engaging. I found the whole experience to be great cuz I wasn't in NYC to hang out in a hotel room (why would you?).

Definitely be back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycbornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    1,353
    357
    63
    36
See reviews for
347
982
577
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Rooms are way too small for one person let alone two. Bathroom privacy is minimal and small as well.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Roof top lounge was pretty awesome with breath taking views.

If you like postage stamp sized rooms, then this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedupwithitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

this is a very nice hotel, in the hart of mannhattan, just few steps away from the Grand Central satation. I think that the location is ecxellent, as well as the bar and the the rooftop terrace!
the only problem for me was the bathroom!!the room are really small and in front of our bed there was a glass the separete the bathroom....the glass is not totally seethrough...but you can still see too much in my opinion...so there is not much pivacy...
anothere problem was the very noisy heating but i'm a light sleeper so I guess that for other people wouldn't be a problem.
apart for this the hotel was very nice, modern, clean and with exellent service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlotta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I am very pleasantly surprised at the size of my pod at Pod 39! It is only slightly smaller than rooms in a number of the older, classic hotels in NYC. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. I called house keeping to get an iron and ironing board and it was there in less than 5 minutes. The location is great! Very close to Grand Central and the Chrysler building and it's a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RecentTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed at Pod39 for one night and it met all my expectations. You can see how small the rooms are going to be on the website when booking. I booked a single room, but was upgraded to a double on arrival (thank goodness, cos the extra space was helpful). Yes, the room is small, the bathroom is only partitioned off by opaque glass, not solid walls, and there is no room for your suitcase (except under the bed). But there is a comfy bed, lots of power points (and USB points) for phones, iPods and computers, a good shower with lots of hot water and it's very clean.

The only problem I had was with some really bad pipe-banging noises in the middle of the night that disturbed my sleep.

The bathroom sink has no hot water tap and no plug (not help as I wanted to do some washing)

I found the staff very helpful on check-in. However don't expect anyone to help you with your bags or with taxis or recommendations for local restaurants.

The place does have the feel of a hostel (although I joked that the stainless steel doors make it feel a bit Prison-like!) with the trendy bar and rooftop. I would not hesitate to recommend it to someone as a short stay alternative to a big name hotel. Although you might rethink this if you are a) really tall, or b) looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and a quiet room on check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zejja_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Budget was in mind when I booked the Pod Hotel. I didn't want to spend more than USD 250/night for accommodation, and my days of hostels are long gone. I travelled solo in NYC for 5 nights and stayed in a double room. Yep it's really small but I had everything I needed and with some careful storage of stuff, had enough room for my luggage and daily shopping :-)
The front office stage are relatively friendly and helpful and the cleaners do a good job of sprucing the room every day. I love a dark room to sleep in and this little cave (with windows and shutters closed) work a charm - I slept REALLY well here.
With taxes etc it works out closer to USD 270/night but the location, quality of sleep, and filling the need of a place to lay my head at night after sightseeing the day away, it was just fine.
I do not know how people share a pod, even the bigger ones - I think you'd have to be really in love(!!) or know each other REALLY well. It would be way too cramped for me with any other people sharing. The bathroom is right there and all the reviewers comments are correct about privacy etc.
Would happily stay again when in NYC if I went solo. Good location.
My room smelt a little odd - a little damp - but i didn't notice it so much when i was in there, just when i came back at the end of the day.

Room Tip: I asked to be moved to a room away from the lift. Although a double room, the one i ended up with h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed at Pod 39 with my sister for two nights and three days. I was drawn to the location, which is close to Grand Central, and by the minimalist rooms. Because we were staying such a short time in New York, we really didn't need a big room -- we wanted to be out in the city for most of our trip.

The service at Pod 39 was good. Front desk clerks, concierges, housekeeping staff, and restaurant staff were all helpful, pleasant, and professional. The areas outside your room are a nice place to be, and we had a lovely dinner at the Salvation Taco restaurant. The lounge's breakfast menu is a bit spare, but with lots of cafes within walking distance, you're not stuck eating bagels every morning.

Pod 39 seemed to have been conceptualized from a social standpoint, because there are great places to hang out and spend time all over the hotel. What didn't seem so well thought-out were the guest rooms themselves. The place is missing a few comforts that some travellers may expect — tissues, counter or cupboard space for bathroom items, oh, and a bathroom door. The shower, toilet and sink are partitioned from the rest of the room by a glass wall and sliding door that are only partially frosted, and do nothing to block sound or light. This is a huge nuisance, since many of the rooms are obviously built for two people. If you weren’t already chummy enough with your roommate to watch/listen to them shower and use the toilet, you will be after staying at Pod 39. Or you can spend time waiting out in the hall several times a day while you each take turns using the facilities. Better hope that neither of you needs to go to the bathroom in the night, either. Just closing that glass sliding door makes a lot of noise, and forget turning on the light. There’s no fan in the bathroom either, so shower steam will permeate most of the room.

I was disappointed with Pod 39’s lack of soundproofing. It was the first time I’ve stayed in a hotel (cheap hostels included) where the door was not supported by a tightly fitted jamb. There was a bright strip of light in the room all night, and lack of soundproofing meant we had the pleasure of hearing everything that happened on our floor all night long.

Basically, Pod 39 is a hostel trying to be a hotel. They've got a few things very right, but be aware that they cut a lot of the same corners as a hostel would. I would return if I was travelling solo, but not with someone else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street side of the hotel. You won't hear traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#219 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,516 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#179 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#260 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#48 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#312 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing