We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly efficient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #186 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The pod is sweet for affordable travel. Near everything. The rooms are small it's more like a mod hostile. The staff is extremely helpful with navigate around the city. Their are three very cool bars located in the hotel. One on the roof top that becomes a swank little bar everyday at happy hour during summer months.
I enjoyed myself. The only problem for me was the bathroom. Glass doors. At some point if traveling with friends you are going to have to leave the room LOL

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamchaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    1,426
    372
    68
    40
See reviews for
366
1,055
613
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the five nights I spent at the Pod 39. The room was of course small -- that's the concept! -- but apart from that and two minor quibbles the Pod could have been a four star hotel. It was totally renovated in the past few years, and everything is brand new. The lobby is stylish, the three elevators are modern and speedy, and the room itself was totally up to date. In addition to being fresh, the room is brilliantly well designed: The main light switches both have a pilot to help you find them in the dark, and a dimmer bar to let you adjust the brightness. There was plenty of storage space for one person, a usable little desk and a reasonable chair. Clever use of mirrors and glass made the room feel larger than it was. Venetian-ish blinds on both windows allow you to have exactly the amount of light, view and privacy you prefer. Lots of outlets. Free wifi. Generous rain shower. Clever one-handle water controllers. I could rave on and on! The only little quibbles I can think of are that there were no tissues provided, and the towels were a bit scratchy. And on top of all that the staff is really friendly and helpful. Even the cleaners wish you a cheerful good day, just like in the very best hotels. I've enjoyed the other Pod for many years but some aspects (e.g. elevators) are a bit off the pace. I'm a convert to Pod 39! Did I mention that it's well located? And that the restaurant is lively and good (except for breakfast)? Oh, and the great view from the roof garden?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MergyMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just stayed 2 nights for both the Jan & Feb long holiday weekends. I am very comfortable walking around alone in that neighborhood at night. The hotel is very clean. It's a real bargain in NY. You don't get much sq ft but why would you stay in your room in NY? My only complaint is that the heater is very loud. The first night I turned it off during the night but I did wake up cold. The second night I let it run all night but it kept waking me up. It's loud when it cycles on. It wasn't as cold during my Jan visit so it was OK to leave it off all night. The front desk personnel are always very pleasant. Check-in & -out are painless and very quick. The restaurant/bar in the lobby offers a decent value for NY. The food and drinks were good. I like the toiletries. There is a concierge but I did not use it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy_R-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I booked a double bed room over a weekend in January. My room was an absolute delight--just enough room for everything I needed--a master class in industrial design. It was so cute & compact I tried to take photos but it was too small to get everything in the shot! Make no mistake--this is exactly perfect for a single traveler--no detail overlooked--(except facecloths!) Also, you have to run the sink for a few minutes to get the water hot. The bathroom was actually more upscale & dare I say larger than many other NYC hotels. The bed wouldn't pass for luxury, but at 60 years old, I slept fine for 2 nights. Speaking of which--I'm not the demographic for this hotel, but felt welcome and comfortable. The lounge downstairs was HOPPING both nights when I got back late from the theater. While you're here don't miss the transcendent Indian restaurant, Nirvana, around the corner on 40 & Lexington. OMG.

Room Tip: upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50207Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel in Feb 2014, found it to be a very smart, contemporary, modern looking hotel, staff were excellent, bar and attached Taco restaurant also very good. Room size was fine for couples, but you would struggle staying there with a child. Overall superb stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MHolman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Everything seemed so easy with lots of smiles upon my arrival. I was checked in quickly and was in my room within minutes of exiting the taxi. I had been "warned" about the small rooms, but found mine to be bright and "cozy" with more than enough space for myself and my things. The linens were crisp and everything was spotless. There is a fun and lively vibe about Pod 39 and I have referred the hotel to several friends looking for a cool and reasonable place to stay in NYC.
Thanks Pod 39!
Steve H

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I liked it a lot, location is grat, close to Grand Central. Hotel is renovated, modern, very clean, i got a excellent room, good size and the bathroom was really big. Room 501. Free wi-fi. The cleaness is very good as well. I really recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pryscilafreire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing