We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #195 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Small rooms, but all of the necessary amenities. Awesome shower, great view from the window over the city. Friendly staff, who are happy to help. Food here is cheap and is as good as the price. Would stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oliver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,489
    398
    77
    44
See reviews for
391
1,095
645
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean, efficient, quirky rooms,with bunk bed rooms (which we had). Ideal for friends travelling each had there own TV. Rooms are obviously on the small side but room for clothes and the all important storage for the shopping. Lovely walk in shower with nice fixtures. Towels were very small definitely need bigger ones. The room also missed a place to hang them to dry. Towels were damp after having second shower of the day. Small mix up on check in we were allocated a double but this was instantly rectified by the Manager. Bar area nice but drinks at $26 for a beer and half a glass of wine was a little steep even for NYC. Overall a good base for your New York adventure with a great location at price that was reasonable compared to everywhere else in New York in December.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 125markd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Tiny room with a rather small double bed. Ok price for NYC and relatively new. Clean. Tricky shower (hard to get warm water). The hotel does not use duvet/duvet covers, which I prefer. Slow elevators. Good location with a store on the corner to purchase juice etc. A bit far to the nearest subway.
I guess all this is what you have to expect when visiting NYC and not wanting to spend more than 300$ per night for a room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Think of Pod 39 as a freeze-dried hotel room: everything is full sized and in its proper place, but they've taken all the unnecessary space out of it ....
That's not a bad thing at all, especially at the price. There's no closet (there's a rack with hangers), no bathtub (but a full size shower with a rain head), no oversize armoire (the TV is mounted on the wall), no armchair (but a modest size desktop with a cushioned chair.)
I was in NYC for an evening event and needed a place to stay over. This fit the bill nicely, since I had only a small bag and just wanted a place to sleep. It's in a very good location (E. 39th and Lex) and it was clean and well-appointed. The queen bed was just fine. I'm not sure I'd stay there if I were spending a week with two big suitcases (or wanted to host visitors), but for one night, I was very pleased with it. And $150 a night? In midtown? Can't beat that with a stick. Recommended.

Room Tip: The bar and restaurant were noisy when I came back for the night (10 pm) but the 8th floor room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have recently returned from a six night stay in New York at the Pod 39 hotel. The hotel is situated in an excellent position for visitors to explore New York. We were 5 minutes walk to Grand Central Station and 7 minutes to 5th Avenue. We could see the Empire State Building change it's lights from our room window. The 'Pods' are compact and small and this did take some getting use to. You need to be on familiar terms with your room mate also as the en suite bathrooms - although really lovely - aren't very private. The frosted glass screens don't afford much privacy although this didn't bother us. The charging stations for phones, ipads etc were a brilliant asset as was the free Wi-Fi. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. We appreciated the regular maid service as making bunk beds is a challenge they seem to have mastered. We did ask to move after the first night as we were next to the lift which was noisy. I had read in other reviews that this is the case and should have asked not to be allocated one of these rooms. the staff were more than happy to move us. They are also very knowledgeable and happy to give advice and guidance. You must go up to the roof area for the most amazing views of Manhattan. I would stay here again as the location is ideal but if you want luxury and plenty of space then maybe look else where. It is worth reading the reviews as I did because then you know what to expect.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jollypop14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

In my opinion POD 39 is a great hotel for the following reasons:
1. clean room, with all amenities included such as air conditioner and internet,
2. moderate price,
3. nice staff,
4. location
5. The Mexican restaurant inside the hotel is amazing try it!
6. the roof bar is sooo cool try it!

The only thing you might not like is the size of the room but I was fine with it. It was big enough, anyway I didn't go to New York to stay at my hotel room! :)
I will certainly go back there next time in New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed last week at POD39 - my room was small but not so small that you felt claustrophobic. It was clean and contained everything I needed for my stay. The bed was comfortable - the shower was awesome, a rain-shower head that was refreshing. Everything was great - from the hidden storage area beneath the bed to the clever way they maximize space. But the cleanliness of the hotel made the stay even better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eldiablo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 466 in New York City
4,848 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 466 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 466 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 466 in New York City
5,097 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 466 in New York City
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing