We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for travelling with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location for travelling with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is located just off Lexington Ave and approx 10min walk up to time square. Grand central station is just 2 blocks away. Good location for working your way around the city either by walking or taking the subway. Rooms are small but they have everything you need for a few days in NYC. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was modern. Frosted glass on the bathroom / shower so may not be good for the shy types ha! The rooms where cleaned every day. Roof top bar is really nice.. nice views of the city at night. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmyzmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    1,429
    372
    68
    40
See reviews for
367
1,057
614
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

If what ur looking for is a place to sleep while ur out all day shopping and sight seeing, then POD 39 is the answer. Few blocks from Central station 'subway',Very clean, and quite rooms. But keep in mind the rooms are very small though, however u wouldn't need more space if ur only gona sleep the night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended. It's in a great location in midtown manhattan, just 5 mins walk from Grand Central Station with subway connections to most places. Our Double room was stylish, comfortable and clean, with daily room service and secure safe. Rooms are very small, but given that you'll probably not be spending much time in it it's perfect for a city break. Check out 'House of Lasagne' on the corner as well. If we come back to NY we'll be staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChuckGrenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I came here last year in January and I LOVED it. I loved everything about it. I told myself when I came back on business again that even though my coworkers were staying at the spacious $400/nt hotels uptown that I'd stay here, and I have. I am annoyed enough at this point that I am writing this review while I am still here. I am fairly low maintenance, and NY is my home, though I live very far away now and work for a large resort on the other side of the world. After ranting and raving about this hotel to so many people, I feel like a pretty big chump after this stay.

My room is fine, though I am payìng nearly twice as much as I did last year (ok, I get it, you're popular, Pod Hotel). The roof is closed, it's 50+ degrees and they are fairly unapologetic. I'm on the 2nd floor (really?) despite being a net promoter, repeat visitor and requesting an early check-in months in advance. The hotel is still clean, the service is decent but what has really ruined it for me was when I brought another exec from my group in tonight to go to the lounge and the hostesses told me we couldn't sit in the lounge area because we were only two people. It's Monday night. There were 3 people in there, and they were all sitting at the bar. REALLY?? I have to sit in the restaurant section now, and we can't seat ourselves, despite the fact that it's empty, and we want to have a drink or two before we head out? Give me a break.

You can't get anything here without getting an eye roll, even a cup of coffee to go. Last year everyone was nice. People were chill. I went downstairs and chilled on the couches almost every night and caught up on e-mails with a glass or two of wine. This year? Forget it, I'll go somewhere else, and am looking forward to getting out of here tomorrow. I may even leave early and not stay my last night because I am over it.

I understand the hotel has become more popular, and it's because they've done a good job, but the customer service is starting to slip. And as the person at my resort who meticulously reads the TripAdvisor reviews, I'd be disappointed to read one like this. Net promoters are hard to come by -- I come home twice a year on business, and I will probably not stay here next time, nor will I continue singing the praises for this hotel. They did their very best to build the location up, and now they can be catty and unapologetic to everyone. Good job, guys.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank tyrannosauruswrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel and staff was great. The location was also nice everyone was friendly. Room was kind of small for the amount of money it cost each night. Another flaw for me was the shower head. I like a shower head that I could adjust not the type that comes straight out the ceiling and water straight into my hair. I'd rather have the choice if I want to wash my hair or not. But all in all the hotel was nice and so were the staff but I probably wouldn't spend my money to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solovely2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

You know by now that the rooms are small - but that's the point. And my wife and I actually liked the small cozy room. Clean is the key here. Bar and food late night at hotel? Check. Decent 'hood? Yup. As long as the rates stay low, we'll be back. And the roof deck. Oh, the roof deck...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cblukens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there this weekend. The room is very small, hence the name pod. However, the staff is really nice, the room was extremely clean and it is close to Grand Central Station. We had a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tame0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing