We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cozy”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small but cozy”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was really tiny and you'd better be intimate with the person you're sharing the room with because the bathroom glass door is transparent and really thin. The bed is really confortable and the hotel really clean. I had a room on the top floor facing the rooftop terrasse. If you're a light sleeper, ask to be moved! It's perfect if you're going to spend most of your time out!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sembangmamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    1,509
    399
    77
    45
See reviews for
399
1,104
651
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Can.t believe I found this amazing hotel, about 5 blocks from Times Square. Stayed for two amazing nights, has a roof top bar. Roof top bar only serves like 5 different drinks,a bud light woulda been awsome but they didn't even have that. Room was small... very small but who goes to nyc to hang out in the room. Would go back to that hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobDFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was a great find! For NYC - its a great value. It's located only about 7-10 minute walk from Times Square, Grand Central Station (also access to 4,5,6,7,S subway lines). The rooms are a little small- but come one people- who comes to NY to stay in their room? Rooms have their own shower, AC, tv, wireless - everything is working fine. The beds are comfortable - even the bunk beds. Staff is very friendly (housekeeping, front desk, maintenance, door man).
Check out the roof top patio- open till 1 am. Amazing view of NY - Empire State Building, Chrysler Building etc...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pod39 was a great place for a quick stay in NYC. Very convenient and the rooms were clean and perfectly adequate. I'm always looking for the best value in NYC and I'd say this on could be it! Staff was very friendly, bar looked comfortable and the rooms were quiet. Highly recommend Pad 39.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triski11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was my first time staying at a POD hotel. Traveling by myself I always find regular hotel rooms such a waste. I booked a single room and it was just the right size. It does not feel crowded and comes with all the amenities one can ask for. The shower was especially wonderful, more Niagara Falls than Dripville. Hotel is clean and modern, staff is friendly and Grand Central Station is a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter place, do not book a room on the upper floors. The rooftop bar is very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaEmmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at Pod 39 for three nights on a business trip. Yes, the rooms are small, but I didn't need the wide open spaces. The room had new carpet, a comfortable mattress, and a very nice shower. Blinds could be adjusted to totally black out the room or let light in.The air conditioning worked fine--important in New York City in August. I liked staying there.

My room was at the end of a hall, which was quiet. The hotel is heavily booked, and there can be a lot of coming and going in the halls, sometimes rather loud. But I had no problems at the end of the hall and slept well.

I agree with other comments about the towels. They could be improved. Tiny and scratchy.

There is a roof deck, a crowded party spot. The restaurant on the first floor, likewise. I didn't eat there. I thought the breakfast offerings were disappointing (high priced and not too appealing), but there are many other options nearby.

The location near Grand Central Station was convenient.

For New York prices, this hotel is a good deal and it is not a shabby place at all. I would return happily.

Room Tip: End of the hall. Not too close to the top floor, since the bar on the roof is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4,877 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 467 in New York City
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#397 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 467 in New York City
5,160 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing