We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little shoebox in Manhattan”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #199 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Location is great, near grand central station, and they have a rooftop bar.

When I booked this hotel and read the reviews I noticed we're getting a small room. When we arrived, the room was tiny not small. We had double room and it was too small for 2 people. The window was covered with fixed wooden blinds and the view was a courtyard filled with rubbish.

The room was clean and the bathroom was new with nice rain shower (good water pressure). However, because the room was small, it smelled damp most of the time. The towels provided by the hotel were too small so I used my own big white towel and the maid took it by mistake on the first day she cleaned our room. It wasn't put on the floor so it shouldn't be taken. We queried to the reception and they said they would make a note but we never heard back so we called reception everyday for 4 nights we stayed there and every time they said they would come back to us which they didn't. When we checked out we complained and the reception who was a different person from the last 4 days did not have a clue on the issue and nor the manager.

For the price we paid I expected more (note - NO breakfast, coffee, tea and water included). I will never stay in Pod39 again. Thankfully we moved to Morgans hotel for the last 3 days in NY, which is amazing hotel. This is our first time in NY, but next time I will pay a little bit more for a much better hotel. My advise is to book the hotel in NY in advance, a lot of luxury/designer hotel have discounts when you book more than 21 days in advance.

Room Tip: The room is so small, only 1 or 2 nights maximum stay, if you can get a really cheap price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiaMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,773 - 1,779 of 3,435 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a bunk bed room for 8nts this month and could not have been happier! We stayed on the 16th floor, one down from the rooftop bar and with a view of the Empire State building! There was some noise from the bar (we could hear the music) but it was otherwise very quiet with no noise from guests, lifts, or other. Earplugs in and I couldn't hear a sound. It didn't bother my friend.

The room was absolutely fine. We knew it was going to be small! As two small girls, we had plenty of floor space for two good-sized suitcases and all our shopping(!) We were able to hang some of our clothes on the rail too (I brought extra hangers) and the safe was very spacious. Towels provided but small. The bathroom was quite exposed. We dealt with this by hanging a large beach towel over the glass for extra privacy! Beds were comfortable and it was great having WiFi access too.

Staff were incredibly friendly, door always held open for us, and the rooftop bar had a great atmosphere where we met very friendly locals and other travellers.

Location of the hotel was perfect! Grand Central 5mins walk, Times Square, 15mins and as two girls in their twenties, we felt safe walking back to the hotel at night.

We were very, very happy with our stay at the Pod and hope to return in the future. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had the queen pod. There was plenty of room with a little desk and a private bathroom. The bathroom door is frosted glass which was not a problem for me since I was traveling with my husband :) The location was great. It was about a 15 minute walk, at the most, from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. Room was clean and the front desk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie852_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wonderful gem! Small rooms but I don't stay in the room much anyway. Front desk staff is excellent. Manager, Jerilynn is so nice and helpul with any confern you have. Great rooftop bar. Location is great and close to Grand Central Staion and subway. Great shopping and restaurants nearby. Room was quiet on 12th floor. Towels are small and thin. No washcloths and told they don't provide anymore. Brought extra hand towels instead. Very clean room. Maid service is almost too good ...they keep knocking on the door to clean up in the morning. Concierge on Saturday 8/24 could have been more helpful. He gave us wrong walking directions and handed us a phone number for making dinner reservation. He could offer to help make the reservation. An odd thing happened every night at around midnight. The door lock would make a clicking sound and then stop. This happened every night at the same time. We had several rooms with several family members. All of us had the same thing happen. Manager had not heard this before but was checking with maintenance team. Perfect location. No fitness center and no pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euscarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in a bunk bed room. Small, but amazing use of space. Very clean, great shower, Excellent location! 2 blocks from Grand Central Station. Nice restaurant on first floor and very friendly staff. They had a parking garage one block away, 24 hours for $25.00. Can't beat the rate. Price of room was extremely reasonable compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Came to NY with my 11 year old daughter for a mom/daughter trip and got one of the bunk bed rooms to save $$$ -- might be one of the east expensive in the city. It was a great location, fun hotel, but definitely a very small room -- I could put one foot in the shower and another on the bed! If you just need a clean room to sleep in and aren't looking for a place to lounge around in or a lot of privacy, this is fine, but just know that going in... Nice bathroom, but again, just inches from the beds... Oh well, we made it fun -- it was like being in a little train compartment!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acs_1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you want to save a few $$$$, and don't mind a small room, do youself a favor and book Pod 39. Stayed there 2 nights and everything was Great. Rooms very clean, friendly helpful staff and great location. Short walk to Grand central and close enough to walk to some of NY's best spots. Staff like Felix at Conceage and Merritt at front desk were espically helpful, but everyone from bell staff to housekeeping must have been hand picked because you could tell they really enjoyed giving their customers great service and went out of their way to be helpful. If there is a downside to staying at Pod 39, I would say it would be shortage of really good resturants close by for dinner (no great NY style pizza).

Room Tip: 7th floor where we stayed was really quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 469 in New York City
818 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,428 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $106 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient, and personalized accommodations for the stylish and savvy traveler. Located in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Midtown Manhattan, we're close to all of the action but away from the hustle and bustle. Just steps from Grand Central Terminal, five subway lines will transport you all over New York City. There's a Pod for every person, and endless possibilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing