We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a week in the summer”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As many of the reviews noted, the rooms are compact. We were 2 people in a double room and we each had a standard carry-on-sized rolling suitcase. This was a snug, comfortable fit for our week-long stay. There were 4 wall hooks with hangers and no closet. The hooks and hangers functioned perfectly as our "closet".
The room was thin and long so that you could almost touch both bedroom walls at once by standing in the middle and stretching your arms out. The ensuite bathroom was large in that it was almost the same size as the bedroom. A frosted glass wall separates the ensuite bathroom from the bedroom so there isn't complete privacy between the bedroom and bathroom. The room was clean and bright and the furnishings were new. Our room was next to the elevator but there was no noise from outside the room.
If you are not a light-traveller or you are planning a long stay and will have more than carry-on baggage, then I think the double room would only fit one person. Also, if you are travelling in winter then with wet-jackets occupying the hooks, I would also suggest that the room would be more suited for just one person.
The location was great for exploring all of Manhattan. The rooftop patio is a must. The views are great and it is very well patronized by locals as well as hotel guests.
We used Carmel taxi from LGA and the cost was under $35. To get this price, you need to go to the taxi information booth in the airport where they have stacks of coupons. The Pod 39 concierge desk arranged a more expensive taxi for our ride back to LGA so we realise that we should have grabbed an extra coupon when we arrived at the airport and called our own taxi for the exit trip. Note that the taxis will quote their prices as $x plus tolls.

Room Tip: Based on suggestions from other reviews, we requested a high room (but not the 16th floor) and away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 416YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,823 of 3,403 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ok if you have a short stay in NY and need somewhere central. V close to Grand Central, UN etc. Reasonable value. Rooms are clean and small, but quite well designed. Bring earplugs to sleep through all the students charging up and down the corridors.
Better than the Pod 50.

Room Tip: Get the end of a corridor to minimise noise in the night from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is absolutely ideal for those who are looking for a clean room to stay in NYC. The location is great, right in the middle of mid town, couple blocks again from Grand Central Station, Penn Station, and Madison Square Garden.

The room was cozy and small, but practical. I reserved a single room and to my surprises, the front desk upgraded me to a double when I was there. It was clean, and practical. Since I only need the room to sleep, size of the room is not important to me. In the matter of fact, it probably bigger than the room if you are staying at your friend's place.

When I made the reservation, the rate was $195. My recommendation is to keep checking the rate until you check in. It seems that the hotel lower the rate on Tuesday and Friday. I found a cheaper rate before I checkin, and the hotel was gladly adjusted it when I phoned them. My rate ended up was $155 which was a bargain consider it is in NYC. If there wasn't any special event, the rate sometime goes as low as $125 (that's the rate if I go a week earlier).

The hotel has a rooftop lounge and bar. Great drink and atmosphere. For those who are not staying at the hotel, you will need to get the stamp from the Salvation Taco Restaurant on the ground floor. For those who are guests in the hotel, all you need is to show you room key.

Highly recommended and definitely will return.

Room Tip: When I made the reservation, the rate was $195. My recommendation is to keep checking the rate unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImpulseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Pod 39 is ideal if you are looking for a bargain in NYC but don't want to give up on location. It's in a great area, convenient to both Grand Central and Penn Stations, with lots of dining options. The rooms are very compact but have comfortable beds and working WiFi. It's probably $50-75 a night less than other hotels in the area, but the only thing you give up is a little floor space and privacy. Excellent for solo travel - if you are with a friend, be aware that the bathroom in your room has glass doors/walls so you will not be keeping any secrets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GottaLottaMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This review for Rooftop Lounge & Bar only.

Fun place to meet after work. Close to Grand Central.

It's an open outdoor rooftop lounge (17th floor) with panoramic view of skyline.

Friendly waitstaff. Notably good homemade guacamole served with chips.

Selection of draft brewskies.

Small Gripe: Maybe it's a legal thing, but why the plastic cups?

Will return.

Room Tip: Arrive early...the access to Rooftop Lounge is controlled when too crowded after work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights which is a real luxury in NYC. I liked the style of this hotel. It's laid back and less stuffy than the Sofitel I stayed in the previous visit. The good parts: location is great, with plenty of bars and eateries nearby. It's also central to get to most destinations easily enough. It's modern, clean and stylish. The bars are busy and lively with a good quality selection of food and international drinks. There's even two full sized table tennis tables in the bar areas, which gave me the opportunity to thrash the wife with my superior skills!!

The not so good parts: the aircon is individual to each room. Surely that's good? Apparently not. It makes it impossible to resolve a noise problem if its emanating from another room, which occurred during my stay. There was a really loud and annoying rattle all night, every night. The maintenance guy was wonderful, but he couldn't fix the problem unless the occupier of the rattle complained. As they were young hipsters, they put their aircon at full blast so their room would be cool when returning from clubbing exploits at 4:30am!! Therefore no problem for them. The lifts were really slow, and the metal door of the room wouldn't lock from inside. The room size isn't like the example on the website so if that bothers you, beware. Mine was no more than 10x10 ft, including the bathroom!! It's very very small. Saying that, to me these were not that important as I put earplugs in at night and was out from 8am to 12:30am everyday. It's definitely a couples only hotel. Young couples will love this hotel, as its a hive and local haunt for young hipsters, and upper east yuppie types. It's very New York

Room Tip: Average room size is tiny. Avoid 15th floor as it gets lots if revellers to roof bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a queen room on a high floor. Room was more spacious than expected. Bathroom was more than adequate and had a sliding door to separate it. Only two minor gripes about this stay: room was a bit musty smelling but that happens when you put a bathroom in a bedroom (opening the windows solved this problem and provided a nice breeze). The second problem was the result of me opening the windows--it was loud. The rooftop is quite a scene but the noise from there continued well past midnight. Notwithstanding those minor issues, overall this hotel exceeded my expectations and was way less expensive than a room at any nearby Hilton or Marriott. I will likely stay here again when rates are outrageous elsewhere in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dageff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,951 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#410 of 469 in New York City
551 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#71 of 469 in New York City
5,358 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $113 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing