We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pod 39 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$318
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$322
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$267
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$322
$269
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness center
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$331
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$303
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,635)
Filter reviews
3,635 results
Traveler rating
1,429
1,640
430
81
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
1,640
430
81
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalvation tacogrand central stationrooftop barrooms are smallbunk roomtaco restaurantfrosted glasstop bunkgreat locationnew yorksmall deskmurray hillsliding doorfree wifiprivate bathroomchrysler buildingfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,044 - 2,049 of 3,635 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel did 'the trick'. It was very clean and modern as well as safe and walking distance to Time Square area and Grand Central Station. The drawback was the room size...it was tiny (maybe a bit bigger than my walk-in closet). Also a little chinsey with shampoo and towels. I would definitely stay here again as long as it was amongst the lowest priced hotels in the 3 star category within 2km from Times Square. (Stayed in the Mini Pod room)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Every review about this place is true. I highly suggest not just staying here, but really looking at the people that work here and the thought that went into design.. Each employee was hand picked by HR. Therein lies the genius of this place. Kudos to the staff,designers and organizers. The people here will far out weigh it's compact size. A great experience!

Room Tip: Pack light
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 18Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean functional hotelon 39th street not far from Grand Central station. Rooms small but very clean and comfortable, all with attached bathroom. Good rooftop bar. Price reasonsble for the area. Walking distance to Times Square and near tje subway.

1  Thank NickJS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My daughter is a model and worked Fashion Week 2013. We needed to be in Manhattan for 3 weeks, but affordably. We gambled on Pod 39 for the primary reason of the price. We were in 1501, next to an elevator, and although I'd read reviews complaining of noise, we had no problem with this. Up high on the 15th floor, all was quiet. As you would expect, the room is very small. We got a room with two twin beds, bunked. There's maybe 2 feet between the side of the bunk and the wall and maybe 8 from the end of the bed to the door. There was a single, shuttered window with a nice view of the Empire State building. There was no screen on the window, which was surprising, but I actually liked being able to lean my head out and enjoy the fresh air. There is no closet, just a close rack with a shelf and room safe, and a small table/chair. Although staying for 3 weeks meant we had far more clothing than most guests, we were able to make the space work with a little creativity. Each bunk has its own flat screen TV/remote, a reading light, and a shelf with outlet for phones, chargers, etc. One thing to consider if you're sharing a room though....the bathroom only has a sliding glass door with the glass frosted two thirds of the way up. It meets the needs of privacy only barely, lol. The room is utilitarian, but very clean and for less than a hundred bucks a night in the center of Manhattan, it cannot be beat! And the rooftop has a great open air terrace and an area inside where you can chill on comfortable couches, so whenever I wanted to relax at the hotel I always went up there. There was rarely more than 1-2 people so it was perfect. Because we were there in February, the rooftop bar wasn't open, it's possible that it would be more filled with people if the bar is open, but I don't know. The restaurant has a very small menu with very tasty mini-meals, perfect for a quick breakfast or late night snack. I enjoyed the toasted pumpkin bread in the morning with gourmet pineapple butter and for later, the lamb tacos and the fresh quacomole were awesome! Great price, great food stuffs, very polite staff, and within walking distance to anywhere.....I would definitely stay at the Pod 39 again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purplekarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nicely priced, nicely located hotel -we've tried a lot in mid-town, and this place was unique, funky, and fun. The rooms are quite compact, but offer most of what you need - clean, comfortable beds, cozy. This hotel has a great bar scene - one on the main floor, and one on the roof top. It is a young, hip scene. We stayed only one night, but we would definitely come back. Avoid this place if you are extra tall or large.

Room Tip: Be careful how you pick your room. A single bed is meant for only one person.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews